Walking...and walking...and...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 14th 2007
Published: April 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HS1HS1HS1

Heroes Square surround
I have to say, "Budapest is truly a walk-accessible city." When last I wrote, I was planning to walk a bit and then hop the metro at some point along Andrassy Utca (A.U.) to head out to Heroes Square (Hosok tere), but as I meandered along, I realized that things were absolutely walkable, if you have the time (if you don't, take the Metro and just get on and off at the various sites along the way.)
Along A.U. there are a few interesting sites including the Opera house, buildings surrounding old palace gardens (inaccessible, I just peered through the gates), and a great number of embassies (once again, I peered through the gates.) Interesting for people who like to look at the outsides of old buildings while enjoying a gelato. At a slow-to-moderate pace, I ended up at Heroes Square about an hour later. It is a large, open ROUND about with loads of statuary forming a semi-circle around (you guessed it) more statues! Seriously though, This vast open space was the site of communist demonstrations and was originally built for the Millenium Celebration in the 1800's. The statuary in the middle is the Millenium Monument. (Students, what does
HS3HS3HS3

Minument in middle
the Millenium Monument depict? and why?)
*On a side note, I have noticed that Budapest has more statues around than many places I've been. In every park, no matter the size, there is a statue commemorating something or honoring someone. People even have statuary on the tops of the occassional house! We saw a cobalt colored one today...but more about that later.*
The square is the entry to Varosliget (City Park) in which there sits Vajdahunyad Castle. An Hungarian acquaintence told me that this castle is constructed from several different castles and each section was taken from an existing castle and brought to the park to be assembled as one castle. I do not know the truth of that (or if it is true, the entire story) as I have yet to research it and I did not read that anywhere in the castle (I do not read Hungarian), but it IS a good story and each section of the castle is a completely different style...hmmmm....
I was unprepared to visit the Szechenzyi Public Baths on this day, but it would have been a good time for it. They are located in this park and I was pretty worn out
HSdetailHSdetailHSdetail

Looming details
by this time...Oh well. I will take the Metro back this coming week to experience them. To cool off a bit, I stopped in the Museum of Fine Arts. My acquaintence said that it was "okay" (not a rousing endorsement) but I went anyway. I am glad I did. Not necessarily for the art, although there was a lot of that, but more for the architecture. Wonderful ceilings and detailing make it a great space to sit back and breathe for a bit...and you can look at the art (loads of very traditional paintings and sculpture,) too!
A quick hike home (45 mintues?), an hour to put my sore dogs up, then out to dinner at Cyranos, just off Vaci Utca. For around 2,000-3,400 HUF a plate, you can sit outdoors and people watch while enjoying mains such as a 'saddle' of lamb or salmon with veggie 'compote.' They even a fair number of vegetarian dishes.
After all of that walking and a delicious dinner, I was sound asleep 5 minutes after my head hit the pillow. Speaking of pillows, after another long and exciting day I am headed for mine now. I will catch you up on today's events
Cdetail1Cdetail1Cdetail1

Inside castle walls 1
tomorrow. G-nite! Ei


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cdetail2Cdetail2
Cdetail2

Inside castle walls 2
Cdetail3Cdetail3
Cdetail3

Inside castle walls 3
Cdetail4Cdetail4
Cdetail4

Inside castle walls 4


15th April 2007

Cyranos
I am so glad to hear Cyranos is still open. If you are inclined to eat there again and if they still have it, I, to this day, crave their tarragon soup with cheese dumplings. YUMMY!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb