Jet Lag


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Citadel 1Citadel 1Citadel 1

Bottom of hill
Okay, so jet lag is a real and formidable force. I began yesterday with such good (and ambitious) intentions. My plan was to walk a circle beginning at my hotel, up to the top of the citadel, down to the National gallery, up again to Matyas Templom, then return to the hotel. Needless to say, this did not happen.
After eating a healthy breakfast of cheese and fruit, I finished my blog and headed...back to my room. I was so wiped out I felt I simply could not deal with leaving the hotel. So I didn't.
Around noon, feeling slightly more able, I pushed myself to get out still thinking I would make the circuit. The walk to Gellert Hegy was a casual stroll, but the first flight of stairs up the hill made me realize my limitations in this situation. Now remember, I hike 1,000 vertical feet/mile in 30minutes on a somewhat regular basis back home, but I normally haven't flown around the world the day prior. With regular breaks, I 'summited.' It took me about an hour. The Citadel itself is not much to see...a slight cache of weaponry and some trinket stands, but the view of the
CitadelCitadelCitadel

Guns and poses
city is stunniing. You can look out and see were everything is located. It is a good 'orientation' hike. I now have an idea of the scale by which to judge my planning. It is also a pleasant place to sit, have a picnic lunch, and read...which I did...for several hours...not sticking to the original plan.
Around 4:00 I headed down the hill on the Gellert Hotel side so that I could stop at Cave Church. This is a site I would (and am planning to go) again. I arrived about 10 minutes prior to the start of their 4:30 service (written with 1/2 placed in front of the 5) so I had very little time to poke around, as I did not want to disturb those who came to worship. Very rough-hewn walls are balanced out by beautiful alcoves in which statues and shrines have been placed. It was such an interesting 'feel' (walking into a cave and seeing religious iconogarphy) that I would very much like to see what a service in this atmosphere is like. Fred and I are planning to visit during one of the services on Sunday, although 'tourists' are not allowed. I will be
View from citView from citView from cit

Buda from Citadel
very respectful.
From there I headed 'home' to rest until dinner, which was finally eaten around 8:00 at a small cafe a block or two from Szent Istvan Bazilika (corner of Arany Janoz Utca and HercegPrimas.) Spaghetti for Fred and duck breast with saurkraut for me....all while watching EuroSport boxing. Fred liked the Leffe.
After sleeping for almost 8 hours, I feel relatively human today. Plans are to save the castle (Matyas Templom) for next week and head out to test my ability to ride the Metro (tram system) along Andrassy Utca. We'll see what actually happens!
Enjoy! -Ei


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cave Church 1Cave Church 1
Cave Church 1

Entry to Cave Church
Base of CCBase of CC
Base of CC

Bottom of Cave Church


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb