Keep the goulach


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
June 11th 2005
Published: June 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well it is Saturday morning and the golasch from last night is taking it's revenge. Thank goodness for Pepto Bismol caplets. I walked up and down Vaci utci last night. It is the main pedestrian road with lots of shopping. I was debating whether or not to go into my favorite store, Jackpot and Cottonfield, when this guy started talking to me. I mumbled a couple words - a little English, a little German, a little Czech - he most have thought I was crazy. He started talking in English and realized that the blank look on my face was gone so he kept talking. He was collecting money for an organization to feed the homeless. He was so cute and persistant that I gave him a little money. He had the correct goverment papers and card so I think he was okay. Gabor is his name and he told me he was a monk. I must have had a suspicous look on my face because he pulled back the hood on his coat to show me his shaved head as if this would validate his claim. I asked what kind of monk and he looked at me funny this time. "What kind? A monk monk. You know MONK. (as if saying it loudly would help me understand) Monk for God." I got a sticker in exchange with a happy sunshine on it that says Gouranga - Be happy. I was just glad to have someone to talk to. I thought about getting his photo later and went back to find him but couldn't.

Well, I'm off for a city tour this morning. The rain has stopped for the moment and the sun is trying really hard to come out. Hopefully it will!



Advertisement



11th June 2005

tak cau!
Hey Jennifer, Yeah! Jackpot! I love that store. My mother-in-law came over to help for a week after the baby was born and washed my adorable black pants from there. I had a kinipshin fit, but they ended up being okay! Say hi to Bethany for me! - Helena
12th June 2005

You go girl!!
I can't believe all that you are doing. You can get around anywhere!! It sounds so exciting and I am so glad you found someone to take pics of you! Wish I was with you. Did you ever get to that village in Budapest? Be sure to say hi to Bethany! Continue to have a blast! And no more getting lost!! Love ya', me - Linda

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb