Why the hell am I in Budapest?


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ParlimentParlimentParliment

This is the Parliment of Hungary. It's as pimp as it is pointy. I think that this is where the riots all were recently, and there are apparently guards all over.
Let me clarify something really quick. My recent trip to Budapest was among the best trips I have had this far in Europe. However, there were a few times I had to ask myself "Why did I come here?" Usually, I was answered by something incredibly sweet, like spectacular views and a new understanding of our favourite Hungarian authors.

However, there are still serious scars in Budapest from the various wounds inflicted upon Hungarian history. Hungary has a long history of foreign invasions and occupations, starting with the Mongols in 1247, the Ottomans in the 16th century, immediately followed by the Habsburg Austrians until 1848 when they were granted a semi-independant status, and then after their collapse in 1918, by the Nazis in the 40s, and immediately following that by the Communists until recently. As with much of Eastern Europe, the economy is developing and living conditions are not as high as they are in Austria or Western Europe. Don't get me wrong Hungary isn't totally deplorable, they do have the 35th highest HDI with .869 and the 48th highest GDP, and the 40th highest per capita income.

At any rate, there were good parts, and there were bad
Trash HeapTrash HeapTrash Heap

Trash heap in Buda. This is where you take your used stuff and have some other people take it out. Saves on waste.
parts of Hungary. As luck would have it, I first met up with the bad parts of it. One of the girls with whom I was travelling got onto a bus, and then, before we could also get on the bus drove off. I mean, WHAM, doors closed and bus leaving, and a very very shocked look on poor Sandra's face. So, we got on the next bus with the same number (not very far behind it) and tried to follow after her to where we thought our stop should be. Our bus, however, was (despite being the same number) a different colour as hers, and for that reason stopped less frequently. We landed therefore, about a mile or two down the road at some strange place where we weren't entirely sure where was. Also, Sandra had our directions to the hostel and we had only my memory to guess where it was.

We tried to make it back to the stop we should have got off on, but it took a long while and by this time Sandra was gone (also, it was dark cos it was night) and we had only a guess as to where our
Cave ChurchCave ChurchCave Church

This is the cave church, supposedly it was started as a monestary. This is a lie, it was previously the Mines of Moria. You can see this at night from the side, this is a minor entrance.
lodgings might be. With a very very good spotting job on my part, we spied the door-ringer to the hostel and got in. A Hungarian gentleman who owned the place told us that our companion had been by but left to look for us. So, another party member (Kaeda) and I went out in search of her, and we did search. For about an hour and a half. When we had just about given up, we started back and caught her on some bus, and were ok. But it was quite hungry and very late.

So, we went down the road to a street that (we later learned) was having its annual 'throw your crap out on the streets and let other people have it' day, and concordedly the streets were full of wierd old furniture, and people looting through it to find something they wanted within. After a strange dinner in a Hungarian cafe, we found our way to the Nelson Pub. The Nelson pub is probably not in many guide books because its nothing specacular, but it does, as any Pub worth visiting, have a large portrait of Admiral Lord Horatio Viscount of Nelson as its centerpiece,
Pest by night.Pest by night.Pest by night.

This is the Pest side at night, from the Buda side. The two were once seperate cities (Buda and Pest) then it was Pestbuda, but changed to Budapest because it sounded better.
as well as several other pictures of his ships. While at the Nelson, we were harangued by a group of Marlboro girls who were pitching some special to Hungarians. They disinvited us to participate when they learned that we were not Magyars ourselves. Luckily, I was wearing my Camel Adventure pants, and didn't need them.

The next day we got to see the positive and awesome side of Budapest that I hope to have photographed at least a little, because I am incapable of explaining how spectacular it was. I highly reccomend a trip to Budapest to anyone who wants to learn about a vastly differentl, but distinctly European, culture in Eastern Europe. Make sure to see the Museum of Terror (about the Nazi and Soviet occupations, as well as the Arrow Cross and Hungarian Communist movements), the Turkish Baths, and Heros Square, and perhaps most importantly the Castle District.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

"Helen stood for a while at the railing...""Helen stood for a while at the railing..."
"Helen stood for a while at the railing..."

"Above the vast water we paused again, looking back and forth at the two sides of Budapest, and I felt again its majesty and the explosion of war that had nearly destoyed it. The lights of the city shone everywhere, quivering in the black surface of the water. [Sandra] stood for a while at the railing, then turned, as if reluctantly, to walk back towards Pest." - Elizabeth Kostova "The Historian"
Sandra is a mooch.Sandra is a mooch.
Sandra is a mooch.

Yes, I put this online Sandra. (I'm kidding btw, you're not a mooch)
PestyPesty
Pesty

On a quest in Pest.
Hip to be cool in PestHip to be cool in Pest
Hip to be cool in Pest

Idk... whats the point really. That is a huge ad, for ... children? Whatever.
So that's where it is...So that's where it is...
So that's where it is...

I hear there are rumors on the internets...
PlaymobilPlaymobil
Playmobil

These belong in every country.
Ruins of a churchRuins of a church
Ruins of a church

This is apparently one part of Buda that they did not fix after the bombings in WWII, so that they would remember what the city looked like.
Mathias Corvinius ChurchMathias Corvinius Church
Mathias Corvinius Church

This is the church dedicated to Mathias Corvinus, the great Hungarian King. The church is probably a rip off of Steven's here in Vienna. I'm also betting that the premier of Underworld happened here. Since it's Mathias Corvinus and all... true story.
St. Steven.St. Steven.
St. Steven.

St. Steven christianized hungary, and for it they made a sweet bronze statue of him (Professor Kallay says it is "highly idealized") and put it here, behind Mathias Church.
Troubled WriterTroubled Writer
Troubled Writer

Recently, Ive been going for a troubled writer look. This is me expressing that in the watchtower of a castle in Buda. Notice how artistic and troubled I am! Buy my book... or DnD campaigns!
Marzipan Museum?Marzipan Museum?
Marzipan Museum?

Honestly, no clue... marzipan might be museumworthy... (and I just checked, I think that IS Magyar for Marzipan...)
All Along The WatchtowerAll Along The Watchtower
All Along The Watchtower

How sweet is that... picture from Buda
Heros' SquareHeros' Square
Heros' Square

Here is my Hero ... in Heros square.
MatyasMatyas
Matyas

Corvin Matyas, or Mathias Corvinus was the great king of Hungary. He sacked Vienna and some other cool things.
Sweet CastleSweet Castle
Sweet Castle

Word. This castle (Vajdahunyad Castle) was made in the late 19th century to resemble one in the Romania made in the 14th.
Sandra at the CastleSandra at the Castle
Sandra at the Castle

Sandra doesn't know I took this. tee hee.
Troubled WritersTroubled Writers
Troubled Writers

This is the famous statue of Anonymous (the guy who wrote a bunch of Hungarian histories in the 12th century based on legends) and I. We are troubled. If you rub his pen you get good luck.
Vajdahunyad Castle againVajdahunyad Castle again
Vajdahunyad Castle again

This time with artisticness added
Pronounce this... I dare you.Pronounce this... I dare you.
Pronounce this... I dare you.

Seriously, I sure cant.


20th November 2006

nice!
Sorry if this has been posted twice - I'm not sure if the first one did because the internet stopped working right when I hit "add comment." I loved your pictures - especially the troubled writer one - you pulled that off pretty well, I must say. Oh, and I liked your story about getting lost from Sandra. Scary!! But that's cool you just randomly ran into her.
20th November 2006

yay!
Your pictures are so pretty Matt!!! I love them! I swear, some day i will actually leave montana, if only to go to Canada!
28th November 2006

Guys, great castle pics. I am envious. I just got back from Anchorage AK yesterday, and guess what, no castles there. That is something I will have to remedy very soon. Anyway, statue of Anonymous is one of my favorite statue pics you have taken. It reminds me of that statue of death, my second favorite. Please let me know what history books he has written and if they have been translated into English for I would like to read them. Reminds me of "The Historian" Later.

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb