First day in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
April 4th 2012
Published: April 17th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Our connection from Frankfurt to Budapest was at 12:40pm, on Lufthansa flight 1338. I was seated in seat 34C on the Airbus 321 aircraft. The flight was quick and mostly smooth until the approach to Budapest.

Once on the ground, we went out to the curbside and caught a taxi to the city. It took about 20 minutes to get there.

We checked in to the Mercure Korona hotel and then we showered and changed. My wife and daughter went swimming, while I went out to explore the city. I walked down to the banks of the Danube River and took some pictures, and then continued walking across the Liberty Bridge, and went halfway up Gellert Hill to get a good view. I was out for an hour or so before heading back to the hotel.

It was actually very warm out. We had planned for cooler weather and rain but the forecast was wrong thankfully. It ended up being great weather the whole time!

When I got back to the room, my family was also back and ready to go out. We headed back out towards the Great Market and Liberty Bridge so they could see it. We just hung out there for a little while before we started our walk back to the hotel. We stopped at a restaurant called Tao, which was fantastic! It is similar to a Panda Express, but much better quality. After our meal, we went to a store and got some snacks and drinks and then went to the room.

When it got dark, I walked back to the Danube to get some night photos. I went back to the room at about 10pm, while stopping at Tao a second time to get some of that yummy food!

I highly recommend Tao on a visit to Budapest! Here is their Facebook page: http://hu-hu.facebook.com/TAOBUDAPEST

Back at the hotel, I ate my late night snack and then got some much needed sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb