Budapest, Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
August 23rd 2016
Published: January 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bratislava, Slovakia to Budapest, Hungary


I arrive in Budapest from Bratislava a little after lunch time which actually is not a bad time for me on this day, for I knew I could check into the hostel within a few hours after I locate it. Finding the hostel seems to always be the challenge. I leave the train station and almost immediately get turned around. My directions were good, it was just me on this day. Once I got straitened out, I asked a nice young lady at a travel tour kiosk how to go in the right direction. She was very pleasant and pointed me in the right way, and off I go. I find the general location, however with it being lunch time, it was quite crowded in this area. My hostel was overlooking the main square at St. Stephen's Basilica Church, and I had to walk amongst the masses with my what seemed to be getting increasingly heavier backpack. I did get turned around a few more times, but eventually I found the location. There was a gated door upon the entrance, and luckily I saw a worker at the restaurant on the bottom floor of the building that gave me the code. Otherwise I would have had to stand and wait to be buzzed in. The hostel was upstairs, and those two flights to reception were a chore, but I finally arrive sweaty and all.

Upon a pleasant chat with the receptionist, I stored my bags, for I was still a couple of hours early for check-in. Not knowing really anything about Budapest other than the Parliament Building, I was ready and eager to explore. I did ask the receptionist how to get to the location of the meeting point of the free walking tour, and she guided me on a map to that location. Now it was up to me to find it. I thought that since I had time that this was the best way to see Budapest in a snapshot. Off I go as I head out to explore. This seems to always be an exciting time, for what I may see is unknown. Anyway, I find the gathering for the tour, and I bet there were more than a hundred people gathered. The tour company that does the free tours, had five or six tour guides that split the group. The tour sometimes is as good as the tour guide, and I had a guy that was a native, and I really felt as if he tried to do his best to give to us a good idea of the history of Budapest in a condensed couple of minutes, as well as to give us a feel for the local culture. We were told Budapest is made up of Buda and Pest. I know it sounds funny, but it is what it is. Any way, Buda covers the area west of the Danube River, and Pest covers the area east of the Danube River. After this brief introduction of the city, off we went. Again, the walking tour is the perfect opportunity to get a bearing for the city, where things were, what to come back too, etc. We walk along the western side of the Danube River to Buda. We stop and look at interesting sights along the tour, and we walk across the famous Chain Bridge to get near to Castle Hill. The views from the bridge were amazing. To me, as far as the eyes could see was just beauty. I could see the Parliament Building in the distance, and I knew this was a place I wanted to get closer too to get some good photos. Anyway, we make it to the end of the bridge, stop for a brief rest, fill our water bottles up, and make the climb up the stairs toward the castle. The stairs were a bit of a chore, but the view was amazing! We stopped at the top for one of many photo opportunities. It is pretty easy to get other tourists to take a photo for you where you can be in the picture with the historic landmarks. This I did, and it was time to continue on. We walk just a short distance further, and we were at St. Matthais Church. Beautiful and stunning are just a few words I can use to describe. I noticed it's picturesque beauty as we were walking towards. We came in from a side view, and originally I could only see the top, and then it came into view. We then are at Fisherman’s Bastion which is one of the top Budapest attractions without a doubt. The present day lookout towers of Fisherman’s Bastion were built in the19th century to serve as a lookout tower for the best panoramic views in Budapest. I took some amazing photos from up here. Needless to say this whole area was almost like a fairy tail because of the architecture with how the walls looked with lookout towers, as well as how the overlooks were shaped. As this was our last stop on the walking tour, the group dispersed, however I took this opportunity and hung around on top for a bit walking around and taking photos. After a little while, I make my way down the hill, cross back over the Chain Bridge, and make my way back to the hostel. I would be able to check in now, and I was in desperate need of a shower to get cleaned up and refreshed.

I was able to meet my roommates, and needless to say, they were not very talkative. One person was asleep, and there were two oriental guys that were mainly speaking amongst themselves. I said my hellos, and then got my ever so needed shower. This hostel was kind of neat, as it had a loft where the beds were at. The main floor was a living area with the bathroom, and the loft area was where the beds were. There were four beds and some sizeable lockers. Each bed had two lockers that I could fit all of my things in with room to spare. This was nice. I did not feel like just sticking around, so off I go again on an adventure to explore. I make my way back to the Chain Bridge, walk completely across, and then take a right towards the Hungarian Parliament Building. My understanding is this notable landmark is one of Europe's oldest legislative buildings, and a popular tourist destination of Budapest. It lies on the bank of the Danube River, and it is currently the largest building in Hungary, as well as the tallest building in Budapest. I wanted to see the Parliament Building lit up at night, and as it was getting a bit dusk, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity. As I normally do walk by myself, I try to be very cautious, for some of the areas are not necessarily the most lit and populated. I normally just keep walking towards my destination, and not stopping for anything. After a twenty or so minute walk, I make it to my destination. All along the way, I have been snapping photos, and the closer I got, the more I realized the magnitude of this beautiful structure. I look back towards the Chain Bridge, and it also is lit up and a beautiful sight to see. After some time here just gazing, I decide to make my way back, for I had booked a bicycle tour the next day, and I wanted to be rested up. I somewhat take my time walking back towards my hostel just taking in the beauty that Budapest has to offer at night. I find my way to where the bicycle tour would start to assure I knew where I was to go. After I felt comfortable with my directions, I decide I want some traditional Hungarian food. I walk up a couple of little streets and I find a little café/restaurant. I enter and take a seat. The workers there were so friendly and welcoming to me. I proceed to look over the menu which is on a chalkboard on the wall, and I decide on goulash, for I did not think you could get much more traditional than this. Now, if anyone knows me, they know that I am not much on trying foods that I do not know what is in them. I went out on a limb here, and told myself what the heck. The meal was prepared and brought to me. I must say, it was delicious. I eat it all including the broth. I depart, and go back to my hostel for some shut eye.

I awake the next morning and I had a little time before my bicycle tour, so I decided to go into the St. Stephen's Church. Upon entry, I was amazed at the size and beauty of this place. This church is actually the largest church in Hungary. I did not stay but a few minutes, but I walked around and took a few photos for memories sake. I find my way out of the church, and I head in the direction of the meeting place for the bike tour. I get there, fill out the necessary paperwork, and wait until the other riders arrive where the tour can start. The tour guides name was George, and he was a native of Budapest. He was a super nice guy with charisma, and he appeared to really want to show us all a good time while giving us a little insight and history of his beloved country. Finally, all the riders show up, and after a few minutes training on the bikes, off we go. One of the first stops was at the House of Terror Museum. This museum commemorates the victims of both the Communist and the Nazi regimes in Hungary. The building served as the former headquarter of the ultra-right (Nazi) party in 1940, and its basement was used as a prison. During Communism, the building was taken over by the State Security (Hungarian version of the KGB). Hundreds, or perhaps even thousands, were tortured in the House of Terror. It contains exhibits related to the fascist and communist regimes in 20th-century Hungary and is also a memorial to the victims of these regimes, including those detained, interrogated, tortured or killed in the building. I did not have the opportunity to go in, but seeing the building was enough for me for now. We continue to ride, and our next major stop was at Heroes’ Square. This is one of the most visited sights in Budapest.The Millennium Monument in the middle of the square was erected to commemorate the 1000-year-old history of the Magyars. Archangel Gabriel stands on top of the center pillar, holding the holy crown and the double cross of Christianity. The seven chieftains who led the Magyar tribes to Hungary can be seen on the stand below. Statues of kings and other important historical figures stand on top of the colonnades on either side of the center pillar. George told us a brief history of each, and after photo opportunities, away we go. We continued from Heroes' Square towards the spa area. George took us through the park and stopped us at the Széchenyi Baths, one of Europe’s largest spas, as well as a key part of Budapest’s thriving bath culture. We were allowed to go in and look out a window. It looked so relaxing, and I knew this would be a place I would want to come back too. After a few minutes here we ride towards and over the Liberty Bridge. This is a pedestrian only bridge, and many were just walking across in the middle of the bridge with no fears of any cars, trains etc. We continue our ride towards the Parliament Building. As we get closer, the magnitude of this place just astounds me. We stop in front (across the river of course) for some photo opportunities. We then head along the side the Parliament Building, and we park our bikes on the back side to just sit for a bit. This gave the opportunity to take some photos, and watch the guards walk back and forth. As the tour was winding down, alas, we head to a little café where we all sit and enjoy a soda and strudel. What a nice touch at the end of the tour. After we sit for fifteen minutes or so, we all get back on our bikes and go back towards the meeting point. I must say this was an excellent tour, and I really had a good time. The rest of this day, I walk back to places of interest that we encountered on the bike tour. I also make my way back to the little cafe I visited the previous night to have another bowl of goulash, which was absolutely delicious.

I awake the next morning ,and I decide I would like to go back to the spa area and just relax. I walk to the train station, and I take the train to the stop right near the spa. I pay my entrance fee, and spend about four hours or so just relaxing in the therapeutic thermal waters. It was quite crowded, but I was able to find me a spot to sit and relax. I believe I tried all of the different pools and spas. How relaxed I felt. I spent the last hour or so just wading in one of the large pools, and lying in the sun. Time to go, so I get my things and head back. I drop off my towel and swimsuit back at the hostel, and back out I went. I went back inside St. Stephens Church for I had recently heard about, and I wanted to see Hungary’s most sacred treasure in the church, St. Stephen’s mummified right hand, the Szent Jobb (Holy Right Hand). After walking around for a bit inside the church, I find my way to a back room that had the mummified hand on display. Kind of creepy, but neat to see.

Time for one last adventure, so I decided I would walk back to the Liberty Bridge. It was a bit of a haul to walk to, but what else did I have to do, and I wanted to walk across it as well as just hang out. I kept seeing it in the distance, and as it got closer and closer, I was thinking, about how far I had come and the walk back. I quickly put that out of my mind, for I had arrived and made my way across. All along, I would stop and take photos and gaze at the surrounding beauty. There were people just sitting on the rails, under the rails walking up the rails, just carefree. I continue across to the end, walk around a bit, and turn around and head back. I was happy I made the journey, for it really was a pleasant walk, and reward once I got to the destination. I was tired, and it would be dark soon, so, after much walking, I head back to the hostel to rest up for my journey to my next destination. As this is my last day in Budapest, I reflect on what a wonderful experience I have had. I really hope to come here again some day, for the time I had allotted just was not enough, but I was/am thankful for the time I had, and will have everlasting memories of this most beautiful city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 160, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb