My First Blog


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All (Sziasztok!)!
I want to write something tonight about my experience in Hungary, but it's pretty late now and, as an exchange student, I must get my sleep (although I won't deny STILL not getting enough here).

But I wanted to let you know that all is well here! I was sick for a few days this week, but I'm slowly getting better (thanks for the medicine momma :D). And last week, on monday (hétfő) I started flute lessons with a woman from the Budapest Festival Orchestra.

On Tuesday I went to a concert with my neighbor, and classical music lover, Judka (I think that's how you spell it), the first concert of a series (I have some picures of the music hall... GOREGOUS!!! I loved it, it was soo beautiful!). That night the best cellist in Hungary played (he as amazing of course!), and there was an opera singer from the Metropolitan Oprea in New York perform as a guest artist, whos name is Andrea Rost, and I got to meet her (I have a picture with her :D)! After her performance, I can honestly say I don't hate opera music as much as I did before then.

School is going great! I've been making friends in school, and the kids in my class are very good to me (they are friendly and try to speak with me, it's really funny actually for me to see myself trying to communicate with them through a language I barely speak... and it's especially hard to communicate with the students who don't study english in my class, but we try anyway! It's more fun that way :D). Most of them speak english, and are more than willing to translate for me when it comes to communicating with my teachers, who bascially speak no english with the exception of my math and geography teachers, who speak some english, and spanish teacher (who I communicate with through my limited spanish).
The name of my school is called 'II Rakotzi Ferenc Gimnazium' and my grade/graduating class is split into groups of about 35 students (kind of like Lake Ridge, my private school), and my group is special group because they have an extra year of high school because of how much they study language (3 hours of spanish/italian/french, 5 hours of english/german, and 4 hours of hungarian) half of the students in my group (11c; "11" is the year they're in and "c" is the group they're in) learn english and half learn german; german is one of the two most common lanuages learned here (the other is english, obviously). In school I have a lot of classes, but I don't have to do the homework because I'm done with high school in America, but here's all the classes I take in a week (key word: week): history, general math (matek), music (ének; only once a week on wednsday mornings!), spanish (spanyol), english (angol; there's 2 groups and I'm in the beginner's class to help them with speaking better), chemistry, biology (same teacher... who I do not like so much), physics (never took the class before now, not even in America!), P.E., hungarian, and a period on friday morning where we have announcements to the class about trips and upcoming dates that are important for us.

All of the AFSers in Budapest are awesome! I've done a lot of activities with them, and overall they're just an amazing group of people... and, for once, I'm the oldest person overall (FINALLY! But I'm starting to feel the age difference between us :/, but only a small bit), and
they call me the mom of the group, which I love (and in America I was called a mom by several people, so it makes me think of you all) 😊

Hungarian lessons are going great, but I haven't learned so much yet (just simple words, numbers, colors, verbs... the grammar is going to be the hardest part of this whole language learning thing, ugghh! It's gonna be interesting, hahaha).

My family is also awesome! My sister, who was an AFSer to America 07-08, speaks english (which is helpful when speaking to my parents, who speak a little bit), and my dad is very enthusiastic to teach me hungarian at every opportunity. My whole family is very helpful and kind to me! I am very satisfied with my host family! I have 4 siblings, and a pet cat named Roszie (she's soo cutee!); 3 of the 4 siblings are adults, all living and working in Budapest, but I get to see them often. And all of them have been to America as exchange students, so I have been very lucky to have siblings with who I can ask questions and communicate with.

I have lots of pictures I want to show you, but I have to go to bed now (it's like 10:00 pm here now... maybe even later because I dont have a watch on me :/).
Take Care! Sleep Well!
LOVE YALL!
xo
your jordan/jmac/jordanomilano/etc.
ps
here's my email: makelovenotwarplease@hotmail.com, if you wanna email me... and when you email me, email me your address please, if I don't have it.
and could someone send me Berea High School's address because I want to send a letter to the band, which I miss SOOOO MUCHHH, omgeh, I'm going through withdrawl!


Advertisement



26th September 2008

YEAH! Jordan started her BLOG!
Hi Honey, I am so happy to read your blog! It's great! Perfect! I can't wait to see some pics!!!! Keep it up! You rock! I love you soooooo much, Momma xo
26th September 2008

Hi !!
Hi Jordan It sounds amazing ... I wanne go back to my year ... it is all so exciting !!! I started school this week, it was fun, but I am so tired, because I went out every night with friends. I am studying rehabilitation scienses and physiotherapy now, I think i already told you. I hope everything is going as good as always !! Lots of love i miss you take care
26th September 2008

jordan! that sounds so cool! i'm glad you're having such a great time =D that concert that you went to sounded amazing!!! what piece did the cellist play? haha, sorry i have to ask. I MISS YOU TONS! love you! gill
1st October 2008

Hi Jordan!
Hi Jordan! It is really great to hear of your experiences there! It sounds like things are going well. What is the natural environment like there? Any cool streams/rivers/lakes or woods? Saw your mom today, she picked up your yearbook and took pictures for you. We miss the Macosko Gals here at BHS! It is not the same without you both. Weather is starting to get cold here...makes me think of Andros! Take care. Hug a Hungarian Tree species for me! LoveYa-Mrs. Draves

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb