And now for something completely different OR Driving in Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
April 9th 2011
Published: April 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The title is a Monty Python reference for those who don't know and it means I am going to veer away from talking about the sites for just a little blog on driving in Greece:

One thing that has become obvious is that there are no obvious rules here for driving! At least it seems that way to this foreigner. Speed limits and stop signs seem to be only suggestions until and unless the police decide to set up what I can only guess are speed traps or road blocks? That is when the step out on to the road in front of on-coming traffic and wave you over to the side. When the speed limit is 80 km/hr, we will be doing about 110 and are passed regularly - 30 km/hr over the limit is like being that slow-poke and very annoying. Don't want to get stuck behind me!!!

On 2 lane roads, you essentially will either drive on the shoulder or at least straddle that line that divides the shoulder from the lane - this is to facilitate the passing of any very fast cars that zoom up behind you (sometimes it's like they appear out of nowhere). Even when cars are not zooming from behind, you straddle that line for the cars that are passing on the other side.

On twisty-turny hair-pin mountain roads, with no shoulder, all rules of passing are completely off. I have seen the cars pass buses and trucks on blind curves!! Buses pass trucks!! and vice versa. I am nothing but a chicken tourist and I don't care. I will stay behind that big ol' truck until I can see that I have a LOT of clear space in front of me. Other cars leap-frog their way along the lane. Oh- and note that even when a truck driver waves you by - you should still use your own judgment... (see reference to chicken tourist with wimpy car).

Parking in the cities is impossible for someone like me who can not parallel park worth a damn and parking rules are confusing. All I can say is try to get parking at your hotel...

Having said all that, we are making it through with just a couple of snafu's (being pulled over and the parking ticket) and driving on our own is giving us the opportunity to really see and experience Greece. Tour buses are everywhere but those people travel in groups and I wonder how much do they really get to see?
But if you plan to drive here- just be prepared. And get brave..

The phrase "It's all Greek to me" has taken on a whole new meaning 😉.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb