Exploring Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
May 24th 2018
Published: May 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

When I opened my eyes this morning, I could see the sun peeking through the closed blue window shutters. I hoped that the sun was going to be fully out today. I had listed my preferred breakfast time at the reception desk yesterday for 10AM so I wanted to be ready for my delivery. Promptly at 10, a knock on my door signaled that my breakfast was all set on the patio. It was perfect! My cappuccino was hot but the Greek yogurt drizzled with honey was my favorite. Omelet, bacon, croissant, fruit salad, a trio of Greek cheeses, a pastry...it was all included with their complimentary breakfast. When added to the breathtaking view, one of the best breakfasts of my life. Just wish Mark was sitting across from me.

At noon, the hotel held my bag while I left to explore the town of Oia. The steep pathways that brought you up and down through the the towns alleyways were quite a challenge. I couldn’t believe how the older folks would even try to navigate them, but they did, carrying grocery bags no less. I was out of breath often and went thru two waters and a gelato that gave me brain freeze with every spoonful. But oh how beautiful the vistas were from every alley. Every so often I’d pass a closed gate and hear children having recess on the other side. ‘Please do not photograph the children’ read a sign. Stupid tourists. How lucky to have a childhood in such a beautiful place.

There was so much to photograph, so much I wanted to remember, to bring back with me. I walked around for 3 hours and had just started to get the rhythm of steep climb, flat piazza rest, steep climb, flat old church rest, steep descent, gorgeous vista rest. Alec will have some great footage to work with when I get home. I met the hotel driver at 3PM and took the 30 minute ride to the small Santorini airport.

Ah, the airport. We were made to stand in line to get into the airport, then let in six at a time to stand in line to check in, then stand in line as we went through security, then stand in line to get past the boarding desk, then hustled into another line to wait for the bus transfer to the plane out on the tarmac. Seriously, in line for 90 minutes with 600 people and their carryons, without the slimmest of chances to nab one of the 12 seats that were available IN THE ENTIRE AIRPORT, oh and did I mention no air conditioning! And because it’s so tight, you’re not allowed to stand here or there so every so often an official makes you move from here and tells you to move there, not so easy a task when you’re in the middle of a crowd. It was mayhem when they changed our gate from 6 to 4 and then back to 6. Think crowded subway at 5:15PM in NYC. The english speaking passengers were ready for a fight. My friend anxiety started creeping in and I couldn’t wait to get on that plane.

My flight was just 45 minutes to Athens. The airport was a dream since its the size you expect of a major airport and every thing is clearly marked. I found my way to the metro station near the parking garages and was reading my guide book when an older couple asked me if I knew if they could make it to the Acropolis from this
track we were on. They had four suitcases with them and had just arrived in Athens. I told them they could since I knew that that was 2 more stops than mine. A few minutes later, a young girl came over and asked if this was track 2, the correct one for the metro. I told her it was, at least that I thought it was since I too needed the metro. She said thanks and walked further down the platform. The woman from the first couple who had stayed nearby said, “How long have you been in Athens?” When I told them 3 days, the man said, “You have a look of self confidence. That is why everyone is asking you for help.” He could have said that I looked like Giselle or Gigi and I wouldn’t have smiled as big. I thought it was such a compliment and what I hoped I looked like on the outside. Pushing my comfort zone. I’m fine, I’m going to be fine. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement









Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb