Athens, old and new


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thessaly » Meteora
October 1st 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

From modern to ancient, Greece is superb, for the most part. I don’t know if it is because I’m traveling with the professors, but the Greek people as a whole seem so much nicer. We travel together at night and have so far had at least one guy with us, so we are safe mom.
This morning we got to sleep in 30 more minutes, but sleeping with roommates means that you get up when they do, well at least if you are a light sleeper like me. So I was up at 7. It is a Sunday, but it just doesn’t feel that way at all! We had breakfast on the roof of the hotel, and it has the most wonderful view of the Acropolis.
We traveled to the Agora. It was kind of hard for me to focus, my battery on my camera was/is about to die. However, I did see some amazing things. Greece was so advanced and then their civilization fell leaving all of their buildings to fall to ruins. Dr. Flusche told us that the Agora was even lost until excavated. Amazing!
We went to get gyros off the streets tonight. Oh real
Ostraciam ballotsOstraciam ballotsOstraciam ballots

actually these are forgeries that were made to boot Themistocyles from Athens
Greek food, it is simply great! We then went shopping on the cheap street, which was still pretty hefty, but it was necessary shopping, and a bit of fun too!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb