More on Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
September 26th 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sightseeing trip with Christos 26 Sept (guy I met on the mountain top in Santorini).

Firstly it was kind of funny I thought, the tall, loud Kiwi girl showing the short ( I did him a disservice in my previous blog as he is 5 foot 4 lol, not 5 foot), quietish Greek boy around the gorgeous town of Oia. We had a ball. Christos was so pleased to have me as his tour guide.
I took him to all the sights I had previously seen then we went down to the little port of Ammoudi. WOW. What a gorgeous place. The colour in the cliffs was just unbelievable, as hopefully my photos will show.

The raw beauty of the place is breathtaking. The energy or vibe that the whole area gives off is hard to put into words. I heard many stories of people who came to visit Santorini and never went home again. As my motorcycle friend told me “Santorini takes you prisoner and you can’t escape, you don’t want to escape”.

Now, back to our sightseeing. We sat and had a drink at one of the lovely taverns on the waterfront, and when I say on the waterfront I literally mean Right on the waterfront. You couldn't sit at some of the tables if the water was rough as the waves would crash up onto you.

By this stage the sun was starting to sink low in the sky so I took Christos back up to Oia to find a good spot to watch the ‘famous’ sunset. As other people have written, it is good, but I too believe you get just as many good shots from Fira. And in Fira you don’t have to fight the crowds to get a good spot like you do in Oia. I have to confess, I visited Oia three times to see the sunset and the last time with Christos was by far the best (I wonder why? LOL) I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact I was in arguably one of the most romantic spots in the world with a gorgeous guy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

View from Ammoudi tavernView from Ammoudi tavern
View from Ammoudi tavern

This is the view from the tavern that was right on the waterfront.
OiaOia
Oia

This is a spot that Everybody comes to to take photos from
OiaOia
Oia

This is a spot that Everybody comes to to take photos from


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb