Naked front flips are bad


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
September 8th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yasu, here I am in the Greek Islands. Sorry for the long absence but things have been getting pretty wild around here. I could write about everything that I have been doing but I am getting a little bored of recounting every little detail. I guess I will just have to hope that the pictures do the talking at the end of the tour.

So I am going to fast forward from Barcelona through the French Riveria, past Venice and I am going to write about Corfu, the first of the Greek Islands that we visited. We got there via overnight ferry so we were greeted to the island first thing in the morning. When we got there we were given the keys to the hire cars that we organised. Danny, Chris, Lewy, Dugong, Pete, Stevie, Jeff, Stefan and I all piled in to our "7 seater" (don't stress it seated 9 with seat belts but for some reason they called it a 7 seater) and off we went on our adventure.

It was so awesome that Danny was with us because we didn't have to go through all the mistakes and getting used of it etc. for driving a backwards car. Danny is from Canada so it was completely normal to drive on the wrong side of the road for him. We drove for quiet a while and ended up finding this little restaurant on the beach. We all sat down for a lunch of souvalaki and beer. This was fantastic and we were really well looked after because the waitress loved us.

After lunch we headed off to the other side of the beach were we meet an old Greek dude walking around selling donuts on the beach for a Euro. They were freaking horrible but the way he was screaming "You want donut, I got donut" was so freaking hilarious I just had to pay him. Later as we were leaving we were invited to play some beach volley ball with some girls, this was great fun. It was the Aussies against the Global All stars. I was a part of the Global Allstars so the win for that side was no shock when it happened.

After all this we headed back to the hotel and dropped off a few of the guys. I decided that with a practically empty car it was time to give this whole driving on the wrong side of the car and road thing a crack. It was like learning to drive all over again, it was ridiculous, all things considered I didn't do too bad though we didn't crash so that is always a bonus.

That night we had a toga party. One thing I picked up this night is; don't dress grown men naked except for a sheet and expect them not to flash their bits at any given opportunity. The boys I am on tour with and I are no exception to this rule evidently. Also putting the return bin for the togas in the main foyer where the party was going on and making the rooms in a position where these same men would have to run through the crowd to get to their rooms is an even worse idea. I can't believe someone would actually take a photo of a nudie run, I feel so violated. In actual fact I spent a lot of time naked in Corfu. The next day we went on George's Boat. This was so fun we all jumped on and floated around with a dirty old greek man in a boat for a day. He was dirty but a bloody legend. We went first to do water sports were the boys and our bus driver Sue gave the Banana Boat a go. This was so much fun expect for when it flipped and Chuckie, one of the boys, landed on me and I still have a bruise on my shoulder from that, but apart from that it was awesome.

Finally we got to go to skinny dippy island. One thing Corfu taught me, if you are going to do a front flip off a boat naked in front of your entire tour, close your legs before you hit the water. That is if you don't want to have a different voice when you surface. That's all for now hopefully I will be able to catch up next time.

P.S I have uploaded all the photos of me in London to Facebook because it is a lot quicker and easier to do than on this website. So if you want to see all those photos that I couldn't get up here sign up for a facebook and add me as a friend if you haven't already to see all them. I have sorted through and uploaded all the best London Photos and I have sorted through Paris so they will go up another time.

Advertisement



9th September 2008

You are the funniest person
Hi Zac it was so good to hear your voice tonight on the phone. Your postcard was in the letterbox when we got home. Vatican city sounded wonderful I got excited listening to you talk about it. This blog is also very funny. I couldn't stop laughing although at times I think it is a little to much information.....but I can't stop reading because I want to hear what you are up to. I am so proud of you and glad that you are making the most of your dream. Stay safe love mum XXX

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb