Bodrum, Kos, Naxos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Naxos
September 5th 2010
Published: September 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I was told that pictures are not always better than words recently so I think I will provide a succinct narrative this time. So after Istanbul I made my way down to the Turkish coast to the touristy but awesome city of Bodrum. One reason I was stoked to visit Bodrum is because it is the birthplace of the first Greek historian, Herodotus. Bodrum also has a nice medieval castle that is in the middle of the city. The bus ride took 14 hours and none of the staff spoke English, they would give me the thumbs up and say Obama. Anyway the hostel I stayed at Bodrum backpackers was awesome- over the three days I stayed there I had a great time with about 12 other travelers (most were traveling alone too). I was able to make friends with an aussi named Ben on his way to the Greek islands so we traveled together for about a week. These photos are of Bodrum, the island of Kos and Naxos. The Greek Islands were awesome super laid back, great food and gorgeous beaches. I am now in Athens and I start my program tomorrow.
-matt



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

CIMG1460CIMG1460
CIMG1460

Bodrum
CIMG1465CIMG1465
CIMG1465

Old windmails that powered the town
CIMG1475CIMG1475
CIMG1475

Port of Kos
Hippocrates TreeHippocrates Tree
Hippocrates Tree

Hippocrates Tree on Kos- Modern medicine was first taught under this tree
Temple of Apollo Temple of Apollo
Temple of Apollo

This was built in 500 Bc by far the oldest thing ive seen so far
CIMG1542CIMG1542
CIMG1542

Ben and I did some treking


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb