Cruisin’: It’s all about the music


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
July 25th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Splendour of the SeasSplendour of the SeasSplendour of the Seas

We were in room 6030 on the port side
The cruise has been an eclectic mix of music. The Latin band unfortunately didn’t stick to just Latin music. They sang all the greatest English soft rock hits as well but with a Spanish lisp and accent. As I write this the muzak playing is “I keep holding on”.

Which brings me to the stage shows. The first night we saw a guy called Dominik Allen who was a part of Foreigner at one time. He came fresh from his Vegas show, VOCAL SOUP. Long rocker hair, skinny jeans, I’m thinking washed up ex or current drug addict. I was wrong. He was actually quite a talented musician on several instruments. He went for the cheese factor in his lyrics and singing. His catch song, you guessed it: “It’s all about the music”.

Somewhere in his rock existence he not only found the music but Jesus. Someone should tell all those guys knocking on doors asking people if they have "found Jesus?”. Yes, Dominik Allen knows where he is.

I don’t mind religious people of any description at all. I just found it a bit odd to have my cruise blessed a magical journey by an ex-rocker from
Dominik AllenDominik AllenDominik Allen

The hair says it all.
Foreigner.

There have been a couple shows of Royal Caribbean singers and dancers. Again not too bad, but at times a bit high school-ish. Their feature male singer had a little trouble singing love songs with “girls”. He also struggled to look butch in any costume. The other male singer sung beautifully in every language except English, where for some reason he fell flat and had an accent. There was a point where I felt like screaming “Heart has an ‘H’ in it!” The dancing was quite entertaining in a good way.

Then came Elton John tribute night…
I don’t know where to start. The build up was “you will believe you are watching Elton John”. The quy was over-the-top in every way. He jumped up from the piano and flashed a double peace sign every time he finished a song. His accent was fake, and if that is what EJ actually sounds like in concert, I am very happy I never paid for tickets. Needless to say Kim and I never made past the fourth song.

Sometimes I think we should feel bad for having such high standards and being so judgemental, then I think, what the heck it’s fun to judge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb