The Greek Islands Part I: Mykonos and Delos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright everyone, everything you hear about the Greek Islands is pretty much true; they are absloutely gorgeous. I left Athens 2 days ago for Mykonos, and it's been great. I left reeeeeeally early, as I got some bad advice from the tourist office and was told to just show up at the port without a ticket an hour early. When I told that to the guy working at my hostel he said, "You don't have a ticket already? You'll be lucky to get on at all." So I headed to the port at 5:45am (booooo!) and did in fact get a ticket and I got to Mykonos just fine about 6 hours later, after a lovely 3-hour conversation with a 58-year-old Australian woman who was also traveling alone.

I checked into the campground and set up my tent on what I thought was an amazing cliff overlooking the bay. However, the wind just howls in these islands and I was quite concerned about my tent blowing away. I even had a surly Spanish guy come over to me and say, "Hey, Girl! You need to put those pegs in better *hands me a hammer* or else your tent will blow away!" He was helpful but almost in an angry way.

I hit the beach which was gorgeous and right next to the campground, but I was definitely in the minority being one of very few who kept their tops on. I never thought it would be awkard keeping your clothes on, but I was getting some looking. I even heard one Italian guy say "bianco" as I walked by, most likely because I was also the whitest person on the beach, even though I think I've got a pretty healthy tan going on (save for the raccoon eyes from my giant sunglasses).

Anyway, the next day I took a daytrip to Delos which was absolutely amazing. It's an archaeological site that's over 3000 years old and, while in ruins, is largely untouched due to a decree in 472 BC that forbade anyone from living on the island. It was absolutely gorgeous. I met an American guy named Sean who's also traveling by himself so we made friends and now I've got a travel buddy for the next couple of days.

We hung out in Mykonos town yesterday and grabbed dinner north of town in Agios Stefanos. I wasn't all that impressed with Mykonos town but once you get outside of it it's pretty gorgeous.

Anyway, we grabbed a ferry to Naxos this morning and I've got an amazing room overlooking the Mediterranean and the Sanctuary of Apollo. It's run by the sweetest old Greek lady who gave us orange juice when we checked in.

Tomorrow we're renting a scooter and checking out the island. Should be good!

Cheers all,

Carly xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb