Greece!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright, first I need to apologise once again for no photos. I am beginning to suspect that some part of my camera that makes the pictures go to the computer isn't working, as every computer that I've plugged into in the past week has not recognised my camera. Either that or Greece just straight up hates me. Hopefully I'll work it out and get some pics up soon, but if not then you'll just have to hear me go on and on about how beautiful is and then see the pics when I get back.

Right, so I left Laura in Amsterdam (she's back in Vancouver now) and took the train to Berlin. I was there one night, which was nice because I got to do the things I missed out on the first time, like the Reichstag dome, which is a massive glass dome on top of the parliament building with great views of the city. It was pretty cool.

I flew into Athens from Berlin and arrived late on Thursday night. I checked into Athens Backpackers, which is possibly the best-located place that I've stayed in this whole trip. It's right at the south base of the Acropolis with a rooftop bar with one of the most stunning views you can find in the city. It has a great crowd of people too; I was so worried about traveling alone and possibly not meeting people but it's been wonderful. It's so weird though to meet people and then be like, well see you never. It's still fun though. Oh and I was introduced to the gyros, possibly the tastiest snack food ever. And they're dirt cheap. If you've never had one, think pork or chicken kebab meat in a pita with tzatziki, lettuce, onion, tomato (not in mine) and fries (yes they actually put the fries in the pita with everything else).

I went to the Acropolis on the first day which was cool. Very old, lots of restoration, scaffolding, etc. going on. It was so interesting because I had studied it at UBC when I took Classical Studies, but being there is very different. I went to the National Archaeological Museum yesterday which was crazy - they had a ton of stuff from Ancient Greece and Ancient Egypt. Some of that stuff was over 5,000 years old! It's just so hard to wrap your head around, especially when you come from somewhere where your "heritage home" was built in 1936.

I went to the flea market today and got a foamie and tent for 30 Euros. The tent's a little bigger than I wanted - it sleeps 3 - but it's pretty compact and the price was right. It's flashy silver so I'm basically going to be the coolest person on the beach.

So I'm all set to spend the next 2 1/2 weeks camping in the Greek Islands. I'm heading to Mykonos first thing tomorrow morning. Wish me luck!

Cheers,

Carly xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb