MYKONOS - SIMPLY AMAZING!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
September 10th 2007
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

6AM ON WAY TO MYKONOS6AM ON WAY TO MYKONOS6AM ON WAY TO MYKONOS

6:30 am, about to board the high speed ferry to MYKONOS.
Well.... I sit here on the balcony of my suite in Mykonos and just wanted to get a few things down into the web journal. We have been on this island for less than 12 hours and it is so far better than I thought it would be. The prices are cheaper than I had anticipated, for example 3.50 EURO for a big Amstel at a high end beach front restaurant this afternoon. A quick note about Amstel - Grk Pete was right, you will not find Amstel Light but regular Amstel is everywhere and boy is it DELISH! Heineken is a huge fav too, if only I remembered that line Jimmy tought me in Greek meaning "another green one man."

The ferry could not have been smoother or better; it was state of the art in every way and only took about 2 hours from Athens. I did however want to strangle some little kid with my tea bag string who kept on running up and down the business class aisles yelling, and waking up my pretty wife who was trying to catch some z's.

We arrived at the Apsenti - Couples Only Boutique Hotel at 10am and we were greeted with a warm honeymoon welcome, white wine, and fruit. We were then led into our suite which words can not describe. Duplex style, satelite tv, wifi enabled, and sea view.

We visited our local beach (where Roberto Cavalli? is said to hang out) and Christina laughed as I made goat noises and tried to get the local farm animals to come up to us so I could feed them Chex Mix scraps.

Later on, we met a cute English speaking couple (the first yet, as everyone is from Italy) from Canada who we had beers with by the pool and talked with for hours. I saved the day when they told me they could no longer capture honeymoon photos because they did not have their Cannon charger. "Please borrow mine, in exchange for a frosty Mythos," I proclaimed! They gladly accepted my offer.

Now it's off to Hora (the main town) for dinner and dancing. Tomorrow we plan on renting an ATV, car or scooter and exploring the island and it's remote towns and villages. I still have not had a GYRO and I may get one tonight, even if we dine in a five star restaurant.

If you come to Mykonos you MUST stay at APSENTI!

Love,

KC and CB...






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

YET ANOTHER STRAY ANIMAL YET ANOTHER STRAY ANIMAL
YET ANOTHER STRAY ANIMAL

Probably the 100th stray we have seen....


10th September 2007

Love this blog
Hey guys!!! I love this blog you're doing...you two should become professional bloggers...seems like your having an awesome time...I mean i'm sure its not as fun as Staten island but maybe close...love the part kev when you say "my wife...." sounds soooo weird!! I was like "wait, who is his wife?" lol...ok keep havin fun cant wait to read tomorrows posting! love you guys!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb