Good Morning Kos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Kos
October 6th 2012
Published: September 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well I have to say that my stay on Kos promises to be one of the most meaningful experiences of my life....ok I'm only here for 4 hours before jetting off to Patmos. I arrived here shortly before 7am on the overnight ferry from Syros. After disembarking I walked along the pier and saw a spectacular red sunrise over the water. I am usually not up early enough to see one of those.

I am now sitting in the Plateia Platinou being stalked by a cat. SKAT!

Ok, that's better. Besides from that feline stalking it really is a wonderful calming place. In the middle of it stands a tree where Hippocrates is said to have taught his pupil under its branches. The whole scene feels vaguely Turkish in a way I feel that Rhodes will as well. There might be something to this as there is also a sarcophagus that the invading Turks turned into a drinking fountain. That was nice of them. Just nearby is an old mosque and a Byzantine castle. There is a very reassuring scent to this place. I'll call it ancient peace. All in all not a bad way to begin a day. Oh god. The cat is back. Gotta run...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.425s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 27; qc: 119; dbt: 0.2579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb