Start of Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Ios
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, 3 day in Ios now. Things are going well. This is the portion of my trip with about 30 Green Hope HS seniors. Brought Mom too. On the way, Mom and I and 7 others got bumped and got a free ticket to anywhere USAir flies, so I am thinking about maybe Brazl sometime. Always wanted to do that. We got in the 1st night about 12-13 hours later than we were supposed to, so just had to catch up with everyone else and try to get some rest.

Ios is always fun. No place crazier in the world--at least based on per foot of town!--as far as I am concerned. So many young people. Yesterday was the Swedish Midsummer party. I did not go to it, but lots of people did. Seemed like a good time. Our group took scooters to Homer's tomb--one accident on the way led to lots of scraps, cracked ribs, and a long day at the hospital for the 2 kids and Dad. The rest of us then went to jump off a cliff, take pics, eat at the pool/restaurant near the beach called the Oasis. It is really a perfect place. Everyone went swimming and had a great time. Mom and I had some wine in the hotel after and went to the Harmony restaurant for Margaritas and Mexican food. Such a great atmosphere there. Looking out over the sea, listening to a guy play the guitar, couches, pillows, hammocks all around to relax. Went into town to check email after and get a drink.

So far I have gotten a couple free meals from the people I see every year and help them by bringing business too--7-11 and the Oasis.Have not spent a ton of money, but Santorini is much more expensive. I could stay here all summer and it would be impossible not to feel relaxed!

Anyway, that is it for journal entry one. Now we see if I keep this up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb