Salary (?)


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
July 11th 2011
Published: May 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It all started with me not having a salary for a week now. I've talked with the accountant here, we agreed to talk and meet on Sunday - he never showed up.

In the meanwhile, the Slovakians had June as a whole month, worked through. NO ONE received a decent salary.

They have the same contract as I do: 400 EUR/month, 48 hours a week, 6 day work per week. Meaning that we work 6 days and 8 hours and that one day is our rightful day off.

All nine of the Slovaks have the very same contract, only that their flight tickets of 270 EUR will get deducted as the hotel said to cover the costs of transport. They should get 130 EUR for June. Some of them received 99 EUR, some got 185 EUR, it varies. The excuses they are looking for are the same though when explaining why the salary is less: the cost of gas from Athens to the Island (the Slovaks flew to the capital and got a transfer of 2-3 hours to Skala); you only get 400 EUR if you work through the whole month without using up your days off (!) and so on... They knew it does not sound right, but they signed anyways. Now they are angry and pissed and sending everyone to hell.



In my case, I should have received around 250 EUR for the 19 days in June - in the end I got 230 EUR and the accountant wanted to deduct 270 EUR for my flight. Then he grinned and said: well, no salary for this month then.
I looked at him for a second, then corrected him which made his smile disappear immediately. I told him that there was no flight for me. I came by bus and it costed me 70 EUR. He said he will recalculate everything by Sunday than.

Today the supervisor girl told me that the 2 days off I want for the next weekend to meet my parents somewhere in Kilini will be two half days: I need to be back at 5.30pm on both days to work till 11pm, otherwise the bar would be empty. I was everything but glad but she did not finish. In August (I had a thought, that it is useless to talk about August...), so then instead of 4 days off, I'll get 3. Why? Just because it's August and there's gonna be loads of tourists coming.

The Slovaks will not get ANY free days till September as there will be more rooms to clean. They weren't happy either...



I know that you supported me on the way and I do appreciate that, honestly. I also know that finally I am in a place, at the bar, where I could use English and they consider me more as a human being.

But the original 400 EUR salary is not a big deal of money. And if we are not getting paid at least that small amount of money just because we're young and naive - I just don't like that, it is not fair.

During the 5-hour-long work in the bar, I use English for about half an hour altogether and I only spoke in Italian with the Romanian receptionist. I am bored at the bar - not because it's not a good job, it's because there are no people.

I want to talk to the general manager, the accountant - anyone who's responsible for this. I want to talk to them to get things right, to discuss why I am worth less or why I am treated as an idiot, while the other employees above their 30's, they get their money. If they think just because we are young, we can't stand up for ourselves, they are wrong.

The Slovaks support me passionately on this - they see a chance that I can get their salary for them as well, not just for myself. Basically, they just want me to solve their problems so they can avoid conflicts.

I worked for that 400 EUR and it mean nothing to them, it may be pocket money for them - but for me it means that I worked for this. I agreed with them in the terms and conditions and I did my side, now it's their turn.



The idea of leaving next week with my parents is tempting. I have seen things that does not match up with the definition of a 4-star hotel in my mind.

None of the guests suspect that the Bulgarian guy who takes their luggage at the arrival to their rooms is the very same person who bakes the bread in the morning for them for a week now. None of the guests know I cleaned their rooms and their toilets a few days ago and now I serve them in the bar. The girl at the laundry room works here for 6 years and this is the first year when she actually got a day off. Her loyalty was honored by a small TV in her basement room.

The leftover food from breakfast and dinner will go to the bin - the staff rarely has a chance to eat from it. If we would try to pinch something AFTER guests finished breakfast, our salary would be halved. The general manager would rather bin the fresh food than to give any to us.



This is a truly beautiful island, I love it, really. I'm not saying that this is the worst workplace in the world. It's just too Greek for me. Which is a plus if you come here as a guest.



I don't know if I'll go home, but I really love to now. If the salary is going to be how I imagine it, I'll be free in August for a walk, an ice cream or for to go to the movies. I had a fantastic vacation of one month, I'm ready to enjoy the rest of the summer at home.

I'll keep you posted about the salary and sorry if this post turned out to be a bit pessimistic.




MAGYARUL - IN HUNGARIAN




Az úgy kezdődött, hogy lassan egy hete nincs még fizetésem, mert a könyvelővel vasárnapra beszéltem meg találkozót, ami elfelejthetett, mert nem volt itt tegnap.
Közben történt egy s más. A szlovákok közül - mindnek a június hónap egy teljes, átdolgozott hónap volt -, SENKI se kapott normális fizetést.
A szerződésük ugyanaz, mint nekem: 400 euró/hónap, heti 48 óra, 6 nap munka. Ez azt jelenti, hogy 6 napot, 8 órát dolgozunk, és jár az egy pihenőnap, amit már nem hívok szabinak, mert nem az.
Tehát, az összes, mind a 9 szlováknak ugyanilyen a szerződése, amiből levonják nekik a 270 eurós repülőjegyüket. Így 130-at kapnának erre a hónapra.
Volt, aki 99 eurót kapott, volt, aki 185-öt... változó. Az megegyezett, hogy a kifogásokat keresték, miért kevesebb a pénz: benzinköltség Athéntól a szigetig; csak akkor 400 euró, ha nincs szabadnapjuk és átdolgozzák a hónapot pihenés nélkül, meg még ki tudja miket adtak be nekik - ezek meg csak néztek, és aláírtak. Majd utána jó nagy szájuk van, és anyáznak.

Nekem utoljára az a felállás volt, hogy bár 250 euró környékén kéne kapnom a 19 júniusi napomra, amit itt töltöttem, valahogy 230 körül jött ki, ha jól láttam a cetlin, amiből ugye le akarta szedni a repülőjegyem árát, a 270-et, majd vigyorogva közölte a könyvelő, hogy a hónapban nincs fizu. Miután leolvasztottam a vigyort az arcáról azzal, hogy 70 eurós buszjegyem van, és nálam repjegyet soha nem fog találni, közölte, hogy vasárnapra átszámolja.

Ma a Kula azt mondta, hogy a két szabadnap, amit kikértem a jövő heti hétvégére, amikor Anyuék jönnek, az a két nap csak fél napos szabi lesz, mert máskülönben a bár üres lenne. Szóval mindkét nap jöjjek szépen vissza fél 6-ra és dolgozzak 11-ig. Nagyon nem örültem, de még nem fejezte be. Augusztusban (ekkor amúgy már érett bennem bőven a gondolat, hogy az augusztusi munkáról felesleges beszélgetni) 4 pihenőnap helyett 3-at kapok. Miért? Mert. A hónap első hetében - nyilván a turista áradat miatt - nem kapok pihenőt.
A takarító lányoknak azt mondta a főnökasszonyunk, hogy szabadnap legközelebb szeptemberben lesz, mert sok a szoba, amit ki kell takarítani. A lányok se örültek... Pláne, hogy a fizetésük is érdekes volt.

Tudom, hogy mindenki szurkolt nekem, és nagyon értékelem, örülök neki. Tudom azt is, és örülök is annak, hogy végre a bárban olyan helyre kerültem, ahol az angolt ki tudom használni, és kicsit jobban emberszámba vesznek.



Tudok és értek mindent, ami eszetekbe jut, ha arra gondoltok, miért jönnék haza 1 hónap után. Nem fizetnek ki és még hülyének is néznek engem/minket. Az angolt az 5 órás báros munka alatt jó, ha összesen fél órát használom, olaszul pedig kizárólag a román recepcióssal beszélgettem. Unatkozom a bárban, mert tetszene, de nincs forgalom. A 30-40-50 éves itt dolgozó korosztályt kifizetik, minket meg nem.

Én a fizetést ki akartam harcolni pár napja, amire a szlovákok kizárólag azért bíztattak, mert abban reménykedtek, hogy ezáltal az ő problémájukat is megoldom: "Há' mondd má' meg nekik, hogy mink se kapunk ám pízt rendesen! Na."

A felszolgálásra, egyéb tudnivalókra nem tanítanak meg, még anno a szlovák lányok magyarázták, hogy melyik koktélt hogy csináljam, mi való bele. Ha bármelyikünk a túlórákat ki akarná fizettetni velük, a képünkbe röhögnének.

A sziget nagyon szép, a tájat sajnálom a legjobban itt hagyni. A szállodát nem. Láttam pár dolgot itt, ami nekem nem fér össze egy 4 csillagos szálloda fogalmával.
Például, itt egyik vendég se sejti, hogy aki az érkezéskor a csomagjaikat a szobáikba viszi, a bolgár hapi - 1 hete ő süti a kenyeret, ami esznek. Azt se tudja senki, hogy én, mint báros, előtte a vécéjüket pucoltam. A mosodás lány, 6 éve van itt, és idén kapott először szabadnapot. Honorálták a hűségét a pincében lévő szobájában egy kistévével.
A reggeliről, vacsoráról megmarad rengeteg kaja, mind a kukában végzi, ugyanis a személyzetnek ritkán jut valami belőle. Amennyiben elcsórnánk a reggeli UTÁN akármiből is egyet - megfelezik a fizetést. A főnök inkább kidobatja a friss kaját, minthogy az aljanépnek jusson belőle.

Nem azt mondom, hogy ez a hely élhetetlen, de nekem nagyon görög... Ami pozitívum, ha az ember nyaralni jön ide.

Nem mondom, hogy biztosan hazamegyek, de most már nagyon szeretnék. Ha a fizetés úgy alakul, ahogy sejtem, augusztusban mindenkivel tudok találkozni egy mozira, egy sétára, egy fagyira... Egy hónap alatt kinyaraltam magam itt, jöhet az otthoni pihenés...

Mindenképpen írok, ha lesz valami fejlemény a fizetés kapcsán - elnézést a letört hangulatú bejegyzéshez.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb