Day 55


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
October 31st 2010
Published: November 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 55: Halloween

This morning I got up at 8am, I couldn’t sleep any longer, and with the time-change I gained an extra hour of sleep! I skyped with my boyfriend for a little while, until 9am, when Jenn came up and we left for Neil’s. He was making us French toast for breakfast and I supplied the eggs. We were the first to arrive, then Lisa came after spending the night at Jerry’s, and Gioria woke up. We waited for about half an hour for Geoffrey, then started frying them up. He made them with eggs, cream, nutmeg, cinnamon and sugar, so we didn’t even miss not having maple syrup, which Geoffrey was suppose to bring but never showed up.

Regardless, breakfast was delicious and Neil invited us over for crepes for breakfast tomorrow morning. So Jenn and I went back to grab our wallets, headed into town, bought some fruits and eggs for the meal tomorrow and then headed back home. We had an hour to get ready for the beach, I got changed and had a quick lunch while I skyped a little bit with my boyfriend online. Then at 12noon I went to grab Sara and Jenn and we headed to the beach. On our way I picked up one last souvenir for a friend that’s helped me out at home and dropped off a postcard I wrote for my sister. And finally, we hit the beach, suntanned for a good hour, then it got cold and I headed back to the apartments with Penny following me. When I got home I took a shower, had a little snack and finished another entire unit of Greek homework. I finished about 4:45pm, with 15 minutes to spare before Jenn and Sara came to help to make chicken pot pie for dinner tonight. Lisa left at about 3pm for a castle in Argostoli with Jerry and Neil, so she didn’t stick around for our delicious dinner!

Just past 5pm, they both arrived and we started prep for our dish. It was an amazing turnout and with the filo pastry we used instead of the pie crust topping, we took it to a whole new level! It was at the perfect consistency, the pastry was crisp to a tee and it tasted like chicken pot pie!  We ate close to 6:30pm and Sara brought us each a chocolate that I had for dessert. Jenn helped with washing the dishes, and then they both went into their rooms to skype with their families, I skyped some with my sister and then headed out for a bonfire on the beach in front of Kivatos at 9pm.

When we got there, we could see the 6-foot fire miles away. I wore 2 layers of pants and 3 tops, and it was just right for the walk there, but too hot at the fire, so I had to go inside Kivatos. Jenn and I got a Fanta pop to cool us down and try to revive us since we were pretty tired before we left the apartments. We stayed inside talking to our prof, Odysseus, Gioria, Jenn and Lisa for a little while, then left with a small group back to our place. Along the way some stopped for candy and chips at the only open grocery store, then one girl stopped to pick up a pizza for herself, and others grabbed gyros and sandwiches to go. I don’t understand why they’d want to eat just before bed :S I got home close to 11pm, washed up, talked to my boyfriend and sister on skype then went to bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb