Day 56


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
November 1st 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 56: The Last Month in Poros

This morning I woke up to my alarm at 8:55am, washed up and Jenn came over. We tried calling Lisa up but she was passed out from the sleeping meds she took last night and said to go without her. So the two of us walked to Neil and Gioria’s for breakfast with eggs, kiwi, banana, tomato and cheese in hand. We go there just past 9am and he started cooking right away. We started the morning off with savory cheese, tomato and bacon crepes, then finished our meal off with a banana, nutella and kiwi crepe each. It was delicious and very satisfying. After that Jenn and I helped do the dishes, then walked back to our place to rest for an hour before we went out for a run.

Just past 11:30am she came up and since no one else was waiting at the stairs to come with us, we 2 went out for an hour run up to the Oceanis Hotel and around the docks. We had a slow start, but our endurance increased quickly and we wound up running almost the entire way, with only a few breaks in between and as we talked! We came across a few dogs, but they were all typically friendly and only curious about Oddy who ran with us. We stretched infront of our place, then went back to take showers, change and met back at my place to finish off the 3 pieces left of our chicken pot pie with Lisa. After that I did the dishes, we packed up our things and walked down to Panteli’s to do some Greek homework and pay him a visit. I got a fresh-squeezed orange juice and set up my laptop and took out my Greek books. Some people in our group came by every now and then, said hi, sat with us then carried on. I stayed till about 4pm then headed back. I was freezing because I wore shorts down there, because of my leg bug bites, and my computer’s battery was dying because I finally talked to my parents for about 20 minutes. After our conversation, I packed up my things, paid Panteli then walked back with a small group who were at the beach for the afternoon. I came back, warmed up inside our warm place, unpacked my things and made myself a yummy yogurt/granola/honey/banana/cinnamon bowl snack. I finished copying down all the important vocabulary words for our 9 units of Greek we’ve learned so far, and then had a little bit of down time before we headed out for dinner. Lisa, Jenn and I went to Fotis Family for dinner, I had a chicken gyro. The meat was marinated in a lemon-herb and was DELICIOUS! For dessert we had the Greek doughnuts because the other 2 were still really hungry. I only ate 2 small pieces, while they polished it off and finger licked the honey plate. As we finished and paid, Jerry came by to pick up Lisa and Jenn and I walked home full and tired. When we got in front of our apartments, Isabelle came down the stairs to greet us. She had just unpacked and was knocking on our doors. We talked for a good 10 to 15 minutes outside, Jenn left because she had taken one too many Benadryl pills, and so we gabbed for a little bit. Isabelle was heading down to the classroom to watch ‘Rocky Horror Picture Show’ with our group; I wasn’t interested in re-watching that movie and was tired enough to just come home, boil some eggs for the 2 of us for lunch tomorrow and slowly wash up. I felt like a leisurely night and after this morning’s, what felt like, early wake up, and going all day long, it was nice to have a night to myself.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb