Day 19


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 26th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Day 19: First Rainy Day in Kefalonia

I had a nice sleep-in day; woke up at 10am well-rested and ready for a slow day. I slowly got out of bed, changed, and had some breakfast. Isabelle came down around 10:15 saying she couldn’t walk very well so she wouldn’t be coming with Lisa and I grocery and souvenir shopping because her knee was acting up for some reason. So I wished her a quick recovery and Lisa, Jenn and I left at 10:30 to do some grocery shopping. It looked like a gloomy day so I wore a t-shirt and jeans; it was still warm but looked like it might start to rain. Once we started walking, luck would have it that it started to rain then pour! So I bought an umbrella (I forgot to pack one of my 4 at home) for 5 EU, bought a fresh loaf of whole wheat bread for sandwiches and toast for the week and a spanikopita for lunch at the bakery, a pairing knife at a grocery store for slicing apples, meats and breads, and ended the trip at the butcher where I got half a kilo of fresh ground beef. I wasn’t sure what pork or chicken was in Greek, so I thought I’d stick with something safe (I’m not a big beef eater, but I need my protein somehow. Plus I’m thinking of freezing some for spaghetti one night and making fresh hamburgers for Isabelle and I maybe tomorrow night). The lady at the shop went into the meat locker, took out a fresh slab of beef, carved it out nicely, then put it through the meat grinder. She let the machine go for a bit, then removed the old meat. Then she grinded my piece, weighed it and then I paid 6 EU for 2-3 week’s worth of ground beef! More than enough for me! But I figure I’ve got to try this out at least once! Isabelle and I are planning on making soy sauce fish one day this week (we want to make 1 Chinese dish a week, so we’re not totally missing it) and honey garlic chicken next week, but since she didn’t come, I figure we can get the fish when she’s feeling better (I’m not sure what kind of fish she likes).

On our way back to the apartments, Lisa and my feet were drenched since we were walking in flip flops, Jen was the only thinker who wore her Timberland boots. But when I came home I rinsed my shoes and they’re drying outside with the rest of my laundry (that’s still damp from the moisture in the air) and washed my feet. I unpacked all my buys and went upstairs to check on Isabelle and borrow Jen’s bread knife to slice my fresh loaf. I finished the rest of my spanikopita as I figured out how to play episodes of Modern Family on my laptop.

At about 4pm I headed up to Isabelle’s room to see how she was doing and brought my Greek homework up with me incase she was up for doing some work, because I didn’t get any done on my own! I went over some alphabet stuff and she did a little bit of Unit 2, but we ended up just going through movies on her computer and decided to have a snack and watch a movie. Before the fun, Neil stopped by to check on Isabelle’s knee and said it was probably just a strained muscle (from moving so much these past days) and to rest it up for the next few days. Once he left, she made us a Greek salad, I brought my book back down and brought up some green peppers to add in and a bowl and spoon for dinner. So we ate and talked, then we started ’17 Again’ with Zack Efron and Matthew Perry. We got hungry at about 7:30pm so I went to see if our chili dinner was about ready and if they needed help. The chef in charge said she was just cooking the beans better because they were under cooked and she knocked at our door at about 8pm saying the food was ready. A good portion of the group was already there eating and so Isabelle and I started to eat too: there was mild, medium and spicy chili, bread, rice and garlic butter. I had the spicy chili with whole wheat bread with garlic butter and a small spoonful of rice. It was a nice comforting dinner on a stormy, rainy day; during dinner thunder and lightning started! It was quite an eventful dinner and we got a stray kitten wandering into their room. After dinner Isabelle and I headed back, and we finished watching the movie. We also enjoyed some chocolate cookies from the big grocery store, that I plan to buy when we go back, and some hot water. After that we talked for a little while then said an early goodnight. She was tired and should be getting tons of rest; it’ll probably be another inside day tomorrow (and the forecast is predicting days like today till Thursday) filled with more Greek and movies! I might go and pick up some calamine lotion from Neil tomorrow during the day, with my umbrella, cuz I got another 4 bites, and counting (I find more with each itch) and Neil said he’d get the lotion from Jerry tonight.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb