Day 14


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
September 21st 2010
Published: September 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 14

Again, I woke up at the usual 6:50am, got ready, ate breakfast then headed down to the docks for our dig. We had to wait for this one girl whose alarm never woke her up; she was about 25mins late, but my prof wasn’t too mad and we left the dig site at 1pm as usual. It was a good dig day; we go into our own trenches and started to remove the topsoil. In our trench there’s quite a bit of boulders, roots and ant-hills, but it was pretty fun and we got through a lot of the work (in our 1x5m starting line). By 1pm we were pretty tired and dirty, but we had had a good work out.

Driving back to Poros, Vasili did a stop by the shops so we could get off before he drove the rest of the bus back to the apartments. Isabelle and I got off; I wanted to get some pasta and sauce, while she wanted to send some postcards…which I should start sometime. I also picked up a spanikopita for dinner that night because they only had 2 left at the delicious bakery 😊 Once we were both done, we met up and walked back to the apartments together (we also helped out one of our group members with cash because he was short $4 EU). But before that we stopped off at the bank to change some big bills into small ones; the local shops don’t get enough business to have change for large bills here. It took about 30mins to get through the line, but our transaction was speedy. It was so hot and we were so dirty that we decided we’d go to the beach before we had our 5-7pm Greek review session. It was a nice way to relax, cool down and prep for our class.

We got to class around 4:55pm, and as per Greek time, no one was there and the class was still locked. The class started by us all complaining to our prof with all our concerns about the text book, the course load and our internet connection (since it’s a distance ed course). He took note, will send an email and we started Greek review. Our prof’s not the best at teaching a language but he tries and we appreciate the effort (even though we wind up being more confused than before). After class, a few of us decided to go for a run, so we dropped off our bags back in our rooms and changed for the run. It was a harder run this time because everyone was a runner so we went for longer strides and saw more of the island’s waterfront. By the end of our run I was exhausted and starving! So we all said goodnight, since it was about 8pm and I took a shower and got ready for the next day. I scarfed down my spanikopita and skyped with my boyfriend until I went to bed. During the conversation I also had time to make my sandwich for the next day and do the dishes of my prep work. It was a grueling day but I felt great getting a good night’s sleep!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb