Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Kefalonia
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tonight marks a whole week that I've been in Greece. Today it was supposed to be stormy, so we are staying put for now which is fine with me... I don't want to be sea sick! This is the first bad weather, some rain and some fog. Otherwise, it has been in the 70s and 80s I think and very sunny. In fact, I used all my sun screen in two days and I am going to look African sooner than later. The reason that I am here is to participate in a field survey for marine mammals, mainly dolphins and we have not seen any!! However, I am still having a good time. The scenery is strangely similar to Southeastern Alaska because of the high mountains dropping steeply to the sea. However, the main difference is no devils club! Thank god!
The food has been very good here, lots of fresh veggies and olive oil in everything!! I have come to even appreciate feta! However, they eat their midday meal in the late afternoon 3 to 5 and then dinner at 9 or as late as 11:30. It is hard to adjust to because in the early afternoon I am hungry but later at dinner I am not, so it is a feast and famine schedule for me. Abroad the boat are two Italians, three Greeks, one Spanish and me, so they have all grown up with this lifestyle. However, everyone is really nice and I like them alot.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb