Ithaka


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Ithaki
May 16th 2000
Published: December 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

I went here, to the Island of Odysseus, to walk to some mythic sites, hiking along the roads to the beach (pictured) where Odysseus supposedly landed at the end of his journey, but though it was pretty (again, the photo, but that is a misleading angle), it was full of lounge chairs and a bar that unsurprisingly exploited the said footnote.

The 15 hour ferry left Greece from Patras, picked me up in Ithaka, and went to Ancona, Italy, where I took a train to Rome.

The seas were rougher than normal and I was deathly ill, probably from the ice cream I had the night before, and then having to sprint around the mouth of the harbor to catch the boat in the late morning, so I splurged, switching from a space on the deck to a cabin beneath next to some unhappy cows, where I barely slept, but thank GOD there was no one else in the empty bed in my cabin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb