I'm Home and at work


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Corfu
June 8th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone and thanks for following so far. Thanks to Ian for updating you when his original Amsted allowed; he seemed jealous of the Amstels only and whilst he mentioned Mythos he overlooked the Royal Ionion beer (both draught and now Real Ale (thats what they call it - both bitter and pale ale) in large bottles; excellent stuff and highly recommended if you are visitig Corfu. Wait til he sees the pictures; shame they not in 3D.
Well I arrived home safely yeaterday via good ole Easyjet (very comfy and again arrive at Gatwick early). It was a glorious sunny day in Corfu (my flight left at 11:25) and I wished I was staying for a relaxing holiday but no such luck............where is the volcanic ash when you really need it!!
From tomorrow I will start with my day by day diary................I'm sure the full details will differ slightly from that of Ian and give a different perspective...................when you sweat several pints of body fluid you cannot just replace with water as that doesn't have the salt or sugar your body needs. Plenty sugar in Amstel etc so it was to aid recovery; salt on my meals. Sorted.
What I can say is that my original training proved to be more than enough............my thighs, knees, calfs all coped easily with the walks and the climbs and if my ankle/foot hadn't have swollen it would have been a much easier task. My walking boots were another matter; described as all terrain but they weren't............they just did not have a thick enough sole to cope with the tracks which was basically a hardcore road; very uneven and rough in places. The boots which did 9 of the 10 days full walks were consigned to the bin in Kalami after Trail completed and off course that made room for an extra bottle of Ouzo to bring home..........well I'll need a tipple when going through my 1100 photos. The swollen foot/ankle is still just that today despite me not walking too far on my final two rest days (1st in Kalami though I did walk 7 minutes (wow) to Kouloura (such a beautiful spot) and 2nd in a quiet Corfu town) but more of them in 14 days time (when I hope you are still with me).
It may take a day or two before the photos are on disk and ready to upload so bear with me on that.
Thanks also to all who have sponsored me so far and made a donation to Corfu Donkey Rescue...........if you haven't you can still do so by visitiing www.corfu-donkeys.com and following the 'donate' button at the top right of the home page; stating Dave's Walk as the purpose. Any bids for Shrek, complete with a Kestral feather in his head (and some spare pheasant feathers from Vidos Island) and photos of him on the Trail will be welcomed. He will be posted anywhere in the world to the highest bidder.
So tomorrow we start with a day in Corfu town.............

Advertisement



8th June 2010

I am reading this Dave! obsessed by Amstel? me!! how could you say such a thing????? (didnt mention the sardines though did he) and as far as the Ionian Beer is concerned, i missed out on that last year, but will be pilfering your wallet for it next year! Look forward to your feeble attempts at doing the blog over the next fortnight, but seriously - welcome back and well done! Ian

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb