42 down, 21 to go


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Ionian Islands » Corfu
July 10th 2005
Published: July 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Corfu is just beautiful and I really like this hostel. Because I booked online, I'm only paying 19 euros a night (rather than 26). Even 19 is a bit high...but this place it great. All you do all day is swim and lay on the beach. A cooked breakfast is included (most hostels give you a slice of bread and some jam). Dinner is great and also included...the best part is that they wait on you! There are only two of us in the room and I think it might just be me tonight. The room has A/C (this is the first room with it this entire trip!) and an ensuite bathroom and shower! Oh and sheets and towels are included and there is a private beach...not to shabby for 19 euros! Now to the wildness...this place is crazy. We arrived at 6:30am and were greeted with a welcome shot of ozuo (tastes a bit like licorice but is made from aniseed)...that was murder. It seems that many of the girls have misplaced their bikini tops. At the bar, you can get 8 shots for 5 euro...that's madness. Needless to say, the general population is terribly drunk. Some girl puked on the floor and a friend of mine triped in and took a dive...it was disgusting! His pretty pink toga wasn't so pretty anymore. Oh yeah, last night was the toga party...everyone wears a pink satin toga...hehe! They had a traditional Greek dance show and smashed plates on our heads. Surprizingly, that really doesn't hurt. Other than swimming and dancing, I haven't done much. It's been really relaxing. Tomorrow, I will make two dives, have dinner and then get on an overnight ferry to Bari, Italy. From there, I'll head over to Rome where I'll spend one more night! Damn Trevi Fountain...it keeps bringing me back! After that, a 19 hour ferry to Barcelona. Oh, I forgot to tell all of you...I get back on the 2nd of August and on the 5th, Mom and I are flying to see Ryan graduate AIT. I'm so excited. I haven't seen him since August. The best part is...we get to bring him back home!!!! Three more weeks...I hope I can make it...I'm tired!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb