Not another pot from antiquity


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
July 15th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I went to the Archeological Museum of Iraklio today. Yes, I saw yet again more pots, vessels, vases, urns and other clay containers. I've seen enough for a while. The museum was fine, well laid out and easy to follow, with English descriptions to all items. They did have a couple of famous items: the King Minos golden ring and the Minoan bulls head figurine. But lot's of clay pots.

And now for something completely different I went to the Aquarium. It's 15 km out of town so I had to figure out the long distance buses. All fish a few invertebrates. They say it's the largest aquarium in the Eastern Mediterranean, but it seemed not too big. No Cetaceans, but perhaps that's ok, there isn't enough room for any big sea mammals. There was video display for this, however. The Aquarium is built on the old American Armed forces base right on the edge of the sea, quite a lovely setting away from the city. I saw a couple of small sharks, sea horses, crabs, sea anemones, and many species of fish I had never heard of, all indigenous to the Eastern Mediterranean. A good change from the usual sight seeing, and no clay pots.

I booked the ferry to Rhodes today, but as it doesn't sail everyday I couldn't get a sailing until next Saturday. I guess there are worse places than Crete to be stuck for a week. Tomorrow I will take the bus to Hania on the west side of the island. I hope to hike through the Samaria Gorge. Then mid week I'll have to double back through Iraklio toward Sitia to catch my ferry boat.

I am updating my calender as I know where I am.
Calendar


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 23; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb