Day 16, Bill's Departure


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
September 5th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well today is that day that Billy Buddy left me. He must have been feeling a little bad or he will miss me, but he got up and cooked us a real breakfast with eggs and fruit and everything. There was no Nuttella anywhere on the table. It was a GREAT breakfast.

Well, the morning started a bit slow since we took it easy, had a nice breakfast and then Bill had to spend some time packing. Once we got things figured out and Bill all set to go, we headed out to Knossos Palace. It was really cool to go see, but we were both a little disappointed that more of the palace wasn’t still standing. When you first start in it doesn’t seem like it is that much, but after a couple of hours of going around the ruins and upstairs and downstairs, you start to get a feel for what a magnificent place this must have been and quite the undertaking to build in 1400 BC.

Well, I dropped Bill off at the port to catch the ferry back to Athens. He seemed a bit sad to go and now that I’m sitting here alone I
The QueenThe QueenThe Queen

Outside the Queens wing in the palace
miss him already. I don’t know what I’m going to do till Rome. I did promise him that I would not brood (like I ever do that), so I must press on and struggle to enjoy myself, but it would be nice if he could have stayed. I did tell Bill that I was thinking about going hang gliding, I don’t think that made him feel better.

Can you believe that Bill left me here on my own???



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb