My Greek odyssey - Part 3 - Delphi


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Greece » Delphi
August 15th 2006
Published: September 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Temple of ApolloThe Temple of ApolloThe Temple of Apollo

..or at least the remains thereof....
Delphi is an archaeological site and a cute town in Greece. In ancient times it was the site of the most important oracle of the god Apollo.

Delphi was once revered throughout the Greek world as the centre of the universe. Legend has it that Zeus sent off 2 owls to fly around the world and they met at Delphi - therefore marking the centre of the universe.

In addition to visiting the archaeological sites - my favorite being the Temple of Athena, of course, I went to the museum which was fantastic - and another relatively long visit by my standards.

I also had the best cheap accommodation of the trip to date. Great room on my own with a great view - see sunset photo.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The AmphitheatreThe Amphitheatre
The Amphitheatre

In good condition really....
Sunset from my hotel roomSunset from my hotel room
Sunset from my hotel room

Great view for 12 euro a night!


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb