Cape Sounion


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Cape Sounion
October 15th 2011
Published: November 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My awesome roommate, Megan, and I were tired of sitting in our apartment, so we decided to adventure out into Athens. Cape Sounion became our destination because it was only about an hour ride on a bus from Syntagma, it was cheap to get to, (it only cost about 12.60E--$18 for travel), and it also had the Temple of Poseidon!

Bus trips sound easy enough, but finding the bus for Cape Sounion was quite an adventure. First Megan and I went to Omonia Square to catch the bus because that’s where the internet told us to go…well kids, don’t always believe everything you read on the internet! We had to talk to several kiosk guys (who spoke terrible English/didn’t know how the busses work) and found ourselves bouncing around the square. Eventually we ended up back on the metro to Syntagma and found the right stop. We literally asked 10 different people for directions…

When we finally got on the bus, it was a thoroughly uneventful bus ride; we rode it from the stop in Syntagma all the way to the end of the route, where the ruins of the Temple of Poseidon crumble. The temple of Poseidon was relatively similar to most other classical Greek architectural styles, with Doric and Ionian style columns and layout. The best part was that Meg Dubbs and I were virtually alone at this site! That’s right, it wasn’t loaded with Asian tourists, old people, or school fieldtrips. It was nice to be able to see and appreciate the ruins for what they are and represent. Also I took tons of pictures without random people in them—I hate it when random people are in my pictures!

Since Poseidon was the sea god, Meg and I decided to appreciate the beach by getting some R&R on the shores and taking a swim to cool off from the day’s adventure. (We also had some fun with the ocean and a camera…) Interestingly, that day was the first day I saw a consistent tide in the Aegean Sea…usually the water is very calm. I was excited though because the best part of the ocean for me is the waves! To this point it was one of the best trips I’ve had in Greece so far—spontaneous, historical, and beachy; just the way I like it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb