Greek School!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Glyfa
October 10th 2011
Published: November 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I finally know how Toula felt when she had to go to Greek school…

My first day of classes at City Unity College was very interesting… My very first class was Astronomy, but I had some confusion as to when I was suppose to take it. There are 2 sections of this class, and the second section conflicts with another class I have, so I logically deduced that I must be in the first section. Well little did I know, the first section of Astronomy was in all Greek…let that sink in a bit. I walked into class and the was rambling on in Greek and I had no idea what to do. She asked me my name in Greek and I just looked at her with a blank stare…the other Astronomy was the English one. Oops…they really don’t tell you anything here (you’d think they would notice a schedule conflict…) Anyhow, I got lucky and the professor is going to let me take the English section, even though I have a schedule conflict (so I only have to be there for 2 hours instead of 3…I’m not complaining there). I get to show up late every class and be excused. ☺

The second class I was to have that Monday, Classical Greek Art, was very interesting. It basically examines early art forms throughout the history of Greece. The art itself can tell a lot about the culture, history, and life of the people who created it. I love history and old stuff, so this class is going to be great! Also we get to go to the National Archeological Museum, which is HUGE and WORLD RENOUNED! Let me tell you about my love for museums… Another great thing about that class is that one of the other girls in the class had a schedule conflict, so the class got moved from Monday to Wednesday, leaving me with 4 day weekends (because BCA students do not have Friday classes)! I’m about to be all over EUROPE!

Greek class, however, is an entirely different story. The Greek language uses the Cyrillic alphabet, so in addition to learning another language, I also have to learn new letters and how to read all over again. I feel like I’m back in first grade when the professor asks us to read aloud and I have no idea what sound what letters make. P makes the R sound and the letter delta is actually pronounced thelta---gosh English speakers, if we would have just said it right the first time, learning Greek could have been slightly easier for me! I’m going to have anxiety issues and panic attacks in this class, I think...

I think Photojournalism is going to be my fun class this semester because I have creative control over most of what I have to turn in with these assignments…pictures can be almost anything, as long as they go with the theme and settings of the week. In other words, less requirements to follow… I can pick the subject, angles, etc. and take what I need until I get what I want. I’m just excited to learn what half of the features of my camera do!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb