Athens, 16 years later...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 6th 2015
Published: September 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Been doing a lot of kilometers the last few days...so for two days and 3 nights in Athens, it's more about taking it a little slower! This is my third visit to Athens. First time was back in 1994, I did stay in a dorm in a hostel for less than 10 euros a night, followed by 4 nights spent sleeping on beaches in the Peloponnese. Amazing experience. I came back at the end of a cool cruise back in 1999, and stay at the time in a decent 3 stars hotel. This time, it's a little different...



You may tell me...but Greece is on the verge of crashing, and people truly don't have an easy time around. Well, so let me help by spending a little around to keep the taxes and VAT entering the coffers of the Greek State. This time, we stay at the Grande-Bretagne, this is the Grande Dame of the hotels in Athens, one of those iconic hotels around Europe. The place is truly amazing, specially with a nice upgrade to a room having a balcony right on Syntagma Square. Yes, you can smile, Syntagma Square have been the center of serious and violent demonstrations over the past weeks and months. But not this time, in this day of the beginning of August, the Square is quiet, no a sign of demonstration around.



So the program for the full two days was pretty simple....enjoy some nice food, some relax time, and yes to go back to the main sites. So checked the Ancient Agora, checked the Temple of Hephaestus, checked the Stadium and the Temple of Olympian Zeus. As you can guess, it was slightly hot around, so I made sure the Acropolis was left for the end of the day...nice light, and less of the sun right in your face!



Plaka may be touristy, but it is still a gorgeous place for a lunch or a dinner....and that was to happen too! It does just request a little more curiosity...and not hesitating to have a serious glimpse at plates around you before you even decide to sit and look at the menu...love that food, ad yes, the wine was often more than decent!



Than you have the Grande-Bretagne! They would call it a destination hotel, one you could stay in and simply enjoy the grounds. Here, no Russian...guess it's a little over their budgets these days...not many French either....you are rather transported to the Upper East Side of New York and into the American cruise crowds. They can be pretty noisy at time, but they are more than often a truly entertaining crowds. We spend some serious time by the small pool...this is not South beach, but it comes pretty close to it at 3pm...not a huge place, so kind of crowded, and yes, seriously entertaining!



The place for sunset in Athens is the restaurant on the top roof terrace of the Grande-Bretagne....nice crowd, nice dressing requirements too...and a pretty cool menu with a nice wine list...just don't look too long at the prices. You are first raw for another change of the guard at the parliament ...and more specially, the lighting of the Acropolis after sunset. Simply gorgeous no need to add more words! And than come the late breakfast...same place....more gorgeous views. And I love when the maître d'hôtel ask me...What do you want for breakfast Sir? I go...how good are you? His answer...pretty good, just don't ask me for caviar....and I came back with...Fine, it will be egg royal (egg Benedictine with smoked salmon), all this with a side of grilled asparagus! just imagine the smile I received I love this place!



Two full days are just enough to relax...to re-discover a little...to eat and drink well...so know, it's finally time to get back to the water...in my next entry...coming soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



9th September 2015
Nice place...

What a view!!
11th September 2015

I'm jealous...
I love Athens, and you did it the way it was meant to be enjoyed!
15th September 2015

LAST JUNE
I visited Greece last June. I liked some islands, mainly the not so touristy. Athens is a nice place, mainly Plaka, the best area to walk around.
16th September 2015

Glad to hear all is well in Athens! I really enjoyed reading your blog and felt as if I was right there with you. I guess I'm not the only one that looks at the other plates around me before I order from the menu.
17th September 2015

I love Greece
I miss Athens and would love to go back to the Plaka.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb