Athena


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
March 6th 2012
Published: December 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So Guys, March has finally arrived, which for me means travelling, travelling and more travelling.



Despite only arriving back from Leeds 5 days before, I left early on Saturday morning for Gatwick Airport to fly to Athens.

What originally had been a simple journey on the train from Luton, became rather annoying, as the Thameslink line through Central London was being shut all day, and so i had to get off at St. Pancras and use the underground to reach London Bridge - further lengthening my journey. However all went well and I arrived at Gatwick in plenty of time.



The flight itself was rather great, and as I reached the Alps, the clouds disappeared - giving me an excellent view out of the window of the Alps, the Croatian coast, and Albania before reaching the blazingly sunny Greek capital.



When I arrived, my friend Marianna, whom I had met in Bremen some months ago collected me from the Airport with her boyfriend, and they took me to their house and then to a lovely café in the port area of Piraeus. I then went in the evening to the hotel room they had booked - and as Greece has a crisis, this was exceptionally cheap. From here we walked around the centre of the capital - which looked lovely lit up.



The next day was exceptionally sunny and so warm for March (despite the locals wearing thick Arctic coats). And we walked around the city seeing the Parliament, the Olympic stadium, some Greek ruins and the Acropolis Museum (which for me was free, as I am an EU student). We then went back to the house and had a meal together, before going into the nightlife centre of Athens for the evening



The day after we went to the Acropolis, which again was free for me, where some stunning views are seen from the top. After which, we went to the University area, where the buildings are ridiculously grand, and very nice.



The trip was really very good, and I am so glad I went to see the city. And there is less than a week before the big trip - Prague/Warsaw/Lviv/Kyiv.



I hope you are all having as much fun as me!

Viel Spaß



Kevin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb