Electra Palace Hotel and Short Tour of Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
October 28th 2014
Published: October 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last night, we had another hotel visit from an orthopedist to follow-up on Deke’s condition and ability to travel. We have been very impressed with the willingness of medical professionals to attend to a patient in the hotel room. We have found our travel insurance to be critical in handling this situation.

Deke didn’t feel well in the morning so I waited until afternoon to take a short tour of Athens via bus (a hop-on hop-off bus which stops at Athens destinations). Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pics on the tour because I never got off the bus because I needed to get back to Deke. It was cold in Athens with highs in the 50s.

I was impressed with several Athenian buildings. The University of Athens is beautiful! Now there’s what a University should look like with columns and statues out front. From what I have seen, The University of Athens most resembles Columbia University in the United States. I was also impressed with City Hall and a couple of museums.

The tour also passed a couple of agoras—market places. The fish market is enclosed and very large.

I spent most of the day at the hotel with Deke; I took a few pics of the hotel, which I hope you enjoy. There was a dove close to our balcony, which lingered in a palm tree and cheered me up.

Regarding my further study of Aristotle, I came across the following in Book V of Ethics:

And this is the reason why, upon a dispute arising, men have recourse to the judge; going to the judge is in fact going to the Just, for the judge is meant to be the personification of the Just. And men seek a judge as one in the mean, which is expressed in a name given by some to judges (µεσίδιοι, or middle-men) under the notion that if they can hit on the mean they shall hit on the Just. The Just is then surely a mean since the judge is also.

It seems that Aristotle sees the mean as the goal not only in behavior, but also in justice. The mean or the middle way is that which is right to Aristotle.

Deke and I are scheduled to depart Athens tomorrow, a few days earlier than planned because of his injury. Hopefully, all will go well.

Yasas,



Monique


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb