Stoa of Attalus, the Ancient Agora and departing.


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
December 5th 2012
Published: December 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

December 5 – Athens to London – Today I repacked my suitcase and left it at the luggage storage room at the hostel. Then I checked out and went out till 3:00 PM when I would come back and get my luggage and go to the airport.

I went and explored the ancient agora in Athens. It must have been really impressive in its day. Just the reconstructed Stoa of Attalos shows that. Also in the museums here they have scale models of how it looked and it was really impressive. I think a lot of people believe that there are ruins here now because they fell down or whatever. That is not the case. Basically as time went on different groups “recycled” the marble for their own projects. The same thing happened to the Forum in Rome.

After touring the agora I walked from below the acropolis to Monastiraki Square and went to Savas Taverna on the street behind the church at Monastiraki Square where I have eaten before. I had a half order of beef shishkebob with a side order of French fries. It was very good and with “table water” it ran only about €7. I got the half order because the full order was too big.

After eating I walked back on Ermou street to Syntagma Square and then to the hostel. I collected my luggage and walked back to Syntagma Square where I caught the Metro to the Airport. I waited and watched about 7 trains for Plakentias stop and leave and finally the train saying Airport on the screen showed up.

It was about a 40 minute ride to the airport in a crowded train standing up all the way.

So here I am in Athens airport getting ready to take off in about 45 minutes. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb