Athens again


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
December 4th 2012
Published: December 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

December 4 – Athens – Today I rounded out this trip to Greece and packed up my suitcase for heading home. Then I walked over to the Temple of Olympian Zeus and checked it out. I bought a ticket for €12 and the ticket is good for 4 days to several sites, amongst them the Acropolis. One visit to each site. I had already went up to the Acropolis while in Athens before going to Santorini so I didn’t particularly see any reason to climb up there again. I toured the Temple of Olympian Zeus and then the Acropolis Museum which was not covered by my ticket and cost €5.

Then I walked from the Acropolis Museum to Monistariki Square and the little street behind the church to eat. Then I walked back on Ermou street (and pedestrian mall) to Syntagma Square and from there to the hostel.

I figured tomorrow I would visit the Ancient Agora and the Stoa of Attalus .


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Free mapsFree maps
Free maps

You will find these despensers all around the Plaka area. Aside from being free they are some of the best maps of the area.
Restrooms Restrooms
Restrooms

The Athens Information Center and Tourist Bureau is just around the corner from the ACROPOLI metro stop and has clean restrooms. (None others on the Acropolis or around it that I know of).
Taverna's off of Monastiraki SquareTaverna's off of Monastiraki Square
Taverna's off of Monastiraki Square

There are several good restaurants off Monastiraki Square on the little street behind the church. Also a good ice cream shop on the square.


Tot: 0.639s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb