At the Beach


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
April 15th 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We woke up and instead of going to a Greek island, we went to the beach. Stratos told us what little train thingy to take and what to do when we got there. The train thingy was the easy part. It was right on the main street and you could buy tickets at the stop. We asked around for what number to take to the beach and then got on. The Greeks are so cute. We sat next to this young lady who reminded me a Julia Roberts. She was adorable. She spoke a little English and I just wanted to hug her! We weren’t sure what stop to get off on, but this old lady set us up with a guy that looked our age and we got off when he got off.

We got off at the boardwalk area and walked around. It was a nice area, but we were on a mission for a grocery store. Somehow we found it and went inside to buy the goods. Tasha and I split a chicken, she got rice, and I got fries. Monica found some meatball thing. We got drinks and snacks and rolled out. The lady in the store told us to cross the street and we would be at the beach.

We were at the beach, but it was not cute. We’re stubborn and wanted a better beach. We saw some guy giving other English people information, so we headed over there. He told us to take the bus and get off at the last stop and we would be at a beautiful beach. We did what he said. We got dropped off and had no idea where we were. We saw water, but no beach. We walked about 15 minutes down the road and then gave up. We had to accept the fact that Greece has no sand; there’s only rocks and shells. We ate our food and then laid out a little bit.

All these guys kept walking past us and we finally asked one to take a picture of us. He was nice but kind of weird. He would leave, and then come back! We’re nice girls, so we talked to him for a little while, but then it was time for us to leave. We asked him how to get back and he was giving us directions, but they were mad confusing. I guess he could tell by our faces that we didn’t understand. His English was hard to understand, and before we knew it, we had agreed to let him and his friend take us to the train thingy!

Oh Lord Jesus! So we are about to get in the car, and the guy can’t figure out how to take the brake off or start the car or something. I was gonna walk! He had to go get his brother because it was his car, and ask for how to work the thing. I asked him if he was sure he knew how to drive and he gave me some explanation about how his car was different. I started praying. We made it safely to the train thingy. It was awkward because we didn’t know what to do. Just get out and say bye? They said they wanted to go get something to drink later (they were 33 and 34) so we thought the nice thing to do was give them our number. Good thing they never called or we would have had to make up some kind of excuse!

We went back to the hostel, rested for a while, and then went back out for dinner. I don’t know where we went, but it was delicious! I love Greek food! Monica had a list of things that she wanted to buy, so we went on a search for what she needed. While she was buying Anthony some alcohol, Tasha and I walked on ahead. Some waiter guy fell in love with Tasha and told us to wait for him to get off work so he could take her out. He told me not to worry because he had a friend inside for me! He brought us the famous Greek drink that Monica had just bought. It tasted like black licorice jelly beans to me, so one sip was enough. We had to break his heart and leave, but I’m sure he’s over it by now. I told Tasha I was going to auction her off to all the men 29 and over. They love her! I would be a rice mama jama.
We got back and we were telling Stratos about our day and all the things we saw and Tasha decided that the guy who checked us in was cute. He was from some foreign place like Macedonia or something and she fell in love with his crazy hair and goofy accent. Some other guys came to check in, so we were talking to them. This one guy was full of tattoos but he had some good teeth and wrinkles by his eyes when he smiled. Man, my taste is getting crazy!

I wanted to work out, so Tasha showed me some Shakira moves. I was getting pretty good, but practice is a must. It was getting late, and since Tasha promised what’s his face we would hang out with him for a little while cuz he gets lonely, we went to watch t.v. with him. That guy was in love. He kept telling me how great she was and how she was so mean to him the first night but so beautiful, and then he had the nerve to say that he knew Tasha liked him. It was time for me to leave, so I rolled out and went to bed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb