Greece, where a solo traveler is never alone


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
January 1st 2006
Published: January 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Whole ArchThe Whole ArchThe Whole Arch

See the Acropolis through the arch?
So, my worries about traveling alone for the first time have been lessened because of Greek hospitality. On the 29th of December, I took the bus to Delphi, where I stayed overnight (1 night). Delphi is one of the most beautiful places that I have been to. It is way up in the mountains, and the setting seems perfect for where the ancient Greeks placed the Oracle. The day I arrived, I was too late to go to the archaeological site and museum, so I did what I always do in Greece at such a time - wander, eat and shop! I walked to areas where I could sit or stand and just take in the scenery, especially to watch the sunset. Later that night, around 8 pm, I felt famished and went to this little place called Castalia. After eating, I asked my waiter if I could watch him, and older man, a woman and her son play this card tile game. He said of course, and introduced the others as his sister, nephew and father - his family. After watching a round of this game, they asked if I wanted to play, so I gave it a try. I played that game with that family until 11:30 pm! That was a wonderful way to spend an evening, when all I planned to do was read and hit bed early for a change (remember, this vacation is a relaxing one for me, not a frenzied one). So, I now have a Greek family that has adopted me! The next day, I got to the Ancient Delphi site - in the rain. One word of warning if you ever go there - ancient rocks are slippery when dry, and downright brutally scary when wet! I slowly worked my way around the wet site, thankful for my umbrella. Even in the rain, this place was cool - lots of building remains to see. I wonder if the Oracle could have predicted this weather?
Next day, it was back to Athens to arrive early in the morning, then eat and shop some more. The next morning, I went to the National Museum (one of the best I have been in), and then to the cemetary. Yes, the Athens Cemetary. Why? It was recommended in Lonely Planet, and it was the first one in the city. Some very famous people are buried there,
Beautiful ladiesBeautiful ladiesBeautiful ladies

The Erechtheum, with one of the most famous porches in the ancient world!
but I couldn't find them because all of the tombstones are, of course, in Greek. But what a place!!! These people really know how to pay tribute to their dead, with masoleums and tombstones that rival some of the artwork I had seen in the museum! New Year's Eve was spent by the town hall at a free outdoor festival. I "hung out" with this lovely older Greek couple who did me well by having me in their presence so none of the hundreds of Greek and foreign men bothered me!
Now I sit here, waiting for my plane that leave at 12:50 AM tonight. Mmmm, time to go shopping and eating again at this week-long street festival!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dead KingDead King
Dead King

The famous mask of Agammemon
JewleryJewlery
Jewlery

Jewelery from the tomb of Agamemnon
Gold hilted swordGold hilted sword
Gold hilted sword

A sword from the tomb of Agamemnon
Athens CemeteryAthens Cemetery
Athens Cemetery

The tomb of a young girl. Someone puts a flower in her hand every day.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb