Christmas Break in Athens!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
December 28th 2005
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, here I find myself in another of the world's great ancient cities, Athens, Greece. I apologise in advance...the spelling in this is terrible. Anyway, I arrived on Boxing Day and of course, as I much expected, all of the tourist sites were closed. However, most shops and tavernas were open, so I ate and shopped all day! Well, first I walked all around the city centre (thanks Lonely Planet for the guided walking tour map). I found my way from Syntagma Sqaure all the way to the Acropolis.
In Syntagma Square, there was a festival happening...I initially thought it was just for Boxing Day, but it has continued the rest of this week so far. It must go on until New Year's. There is a merry-go-round for the kids, and a little village set up with vendors selling sweets and little toys.
The Plaka area is quite enjoyable to walk around, especially since there are not an immense number of tourists. It's really just a cobblestone maze of streets lined with eateries and shops. However, Greece, like Cyprus, has great shops, especially jewerly which I have been eating up.
I then walked towards the Acropolis, following the Lonely
The Back WayThe Back WayThe Back Way

A cool, little-traveled path up to the Acropolis.
Planet guide. I don't know who put this walk together in the book, but it was cool! I found myself walking along the bottom of the Acropolis, uphill all around it, winding my way through tiny "streets" lined with tiny houses. Some of the "streets" were no wider than my two outstretched arms! Just when I thought I was lost, I saw a little wooden painted sign that said "Acropolis" with an arrow. Can you imagine living on this hill?
I reached the entrance area of the Acropolis and climbed this rockface (using stairs) to get a wonderful view of the city.
Next day, I had signed myself up for a trip to the Argolis region of Greece, on the Peloponnese Pennisula. There were about 30 other people on the trip. My main reason for going on this trip was to see ancient Mycenae (a legendary city). This place is right up my alley - a fortress built on a hill. Wonderful scenery. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history connected to the citadel. I climbed right up to the top to try to get the view the ancient Mycenaians would have had. We also saw the tomb of Agememmnon (at least, they think it was his tomb). It's in a hill, with a monolithic entrance and beehive shaped inside. Next, we drove to Epravidros, to see one of the best preserved ancient Greek theatres. The acoustics were perfect! Absolutely amazing. Maybe the Robin Hood group or Royal Medieval Faire should perform here :-) The total trip was about 11 hours, with lunch.
Today, I finally got to go up the Acropolis (into the site). However, I think today was the windiest day in history, and I almost blew off the Acropolis! Thankfully, the rain held off or that would have been brutal. Next, I hit the Ancient Agora - very cool, especially the Temple of Hephaestus, the god of the forge. I also wandered around the site of Hadrian's Library. Then it was time for a huge Greek dinner (they don't do small portions here), and the time to shop!
On the 29th I head to seek advice from the Oracle at Delphi...well, maybe I'll just take pictures there. Until next time...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The gate at MycenaeThe gate at Mycenae
The gate at Mycenae

Gold lions' heads used to be on the figures.
Epidaurus TheatreEpidaurus Theatre
Epidaurus Theatre

Perfect acoustics from the stand in the centre.
Very Old Tomb near MycenaeVery Old Tomb near Mycenae
Very Old Tomb near Mycenae

The entrance to a huge beehive tomb.


Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb