Day 12 Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
September 1st 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, the day started a little earlier than we had planned. The sun sure is bright first thing in the morning in Greece. We checked out of our hotel and headed to downtown Athens and the Acropolis. There is so much to say about the ruins in Athens that I’m sure I won’t come close to doing any of it justice, but I have a couple of observations.

First, it is very bizarre being in these ruins that are thousands of years old and then right next door is an office building or an apartment complex. The ruins are literally in the middle of the town; you don’t go very far and you are hit with all the modern conveniences.

Second, there is a pass that you can get to get into pretty much all of the sites. It costs 12 EU and is well worth it. As Bill and I found out one day is nowhere near enough time to make it through everything. I’ve included some of the pics here but I have about 200 total that hopefully one day I will get onto my iDisk.

We decided rather than flying to catch the ferry to Crete. Well in the planning stages this seemed like a good idea, but I failed to account for the fact that we would have spent the whole day sightseeing and would be tired as hell. The ferry was ok but I’m afraid the beauty of the ride and the romance of the trip were completely lost on our tired bodies. We also failed to book a cabin, this also was a mistake but I’m not sure how much we would have slept anyway.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb