Nafplio


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Palamidi FortressPalamidi FortressPalamidi Fortress

Palamidi Fortress overlooking Nafplio and the many steps I climbed
Animal update: goats ripping the leaves from branches and sheep nibbling grass from alongside the road, and did I mention lots of stray cats?

I figured out there are so many stray dogs and cats here because the Greeks considering spaying and neutering to be cruel, more so than, say, starvation and poisoned food. Quite a different outlook than at home...

I spent the last two days in a lovely little town in the Peloponnese named Nafplio. A former capital of Greece and an important port since the Bronze age, it is surrounded by three fortresses, only one of which I visited. I have to say that it is a truly beautiful part of the country, overrun in every direction this time of year with yellow, white, red and purple wildflowers.

The first day I explored the town and the Palamidi Fortress, which is up on a hill overlooking Nafplio and accessible by climbing 999 steps, so they tell me. I think it was considerably less than that, although possibly my legs would disagree. From there I had incredible views of the area, the layout of the town, and the sea which meets it. Fantastic!

I meandered
Palamidi Fortress IIPalamidi Fortress IIPalamidi Fortress II

Palamidi Fortress
through the little streets and past elegant Venetian houses and cafes and shops my first day there and caught up on some much needed sleep. On my second day I had three choices: I could see the ruins of Ancient Mycenae, once the most powerful city in Greece; the well-preserved theater of Epidavros where plays are still held in the summer; or the ruins of Tiryens, another important Mycenaean palace built from colossal stones. I decided to visit Ancient Mycenae, which ended up being almost as interesting for its great views as for the ruins themselves. It's featured in Homer's epic poems but was though to have been a myth until discovered again in the 1870s by archaeologist Heinrich Schliemann. This was supposedly the palace of Agamemnon, and the plaques point out the room in which he was thought to have been murdered.

In the afternoon the winds picked up and, as far as I know, haven't abated. Although I am currently I am planning on taking a boat today to Hydra which might be canceled if the weather gets bad enough. Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Nafplio IIINafplio III
Nafplio III

The view of Nafplio from the climb up to the Palamidi Fortress
Nafplio IVNafplio IV
Nafplio IV

Overlooking Nafplio from the Palamidi Fortress
Nafplio seasideNafplio seaside
Nafplio seaside

The seaside of Nafplio
Nafplio VNafplio V
Nafplio V

Artsy Nafplio
NafplioNafplio
Nafplio

Street in Nafplio
Nafplio VINafplio VI
Nafplio VI

Old Venetian house in Nafplio
Nafplio SquareNafplio Square
Nafplio Square

The town square in Napflio - quite the place to be and be seen in the evening.
Nafplio IINafplio II
Nafplio II

The view of Nafplio from the rooftop terrace of my hotel
Demitris BekasDemitris Bekas
Demitris Bekas

The family-run Dimitris Bekas, my hotel in Nafplio
Citadel of MycenaeCitadel of Mycenae
Citadel of Mycenae

The Citadel of Mycenae in Ancient Mycenae
Citidel of Mycenae IICitidel of Mycenae II
Citidel of Mycenae II

The Lion Gate at the Citadel of Mycenae
Ancient MycenaeAncient Mycenae
Ancient Mycenae

Opening to the beehive tombs in Ancient Mycenae


25th March 2008

I'm so enjoying hearing about your travels almost as they happen! Acient Mycenae sounds fascinating. I was always interested in those myths. And lots of stray kitties! I would love that. hee! *hugs*

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0141s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb