Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last stop....Athens. This is the main reason why I picked this tour. I loved Greek mythology growing up and I wanted to see where it all came from. The journey to Athens gave us a glimpse of mainland Greece which was something to behold. It's the perfect blend of mountains, valleys, water and sky. I'm sure it's nothing compared to the smaller islands here but I really enjoyed it anyway. My time here was pretty short but here are the highlights:




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Rion-Antirion bridgeRion-Antirion bridge
Rion-Antirion bridge

The bridge we crossed on our way to Athens.
Olympic stadiumOlympic stadium
Olympic stadium

The pictures don't show you how big and beautiful this place is. The seats alone are impressive.
Plaka dinnerPlaka dinner
Plaka dinner

We went to the Plaka district and had our final meal together. Kabobs...yum!!!
Heading towards the ParthenonHeading towards the Parthenon
Heading towards the Parthenon

It was definitely a trek to get to the top of the Acropolis and there are tons of people squeezing into a tiny entrance. But it's totally worth it.
Athena templeAthena temple
Athena temple

This temple is next to the Parthenon.
ParthenonParthenon
Parthenon

It's under a lot of construction but at least I got a glimpse.
My final mealMy final meal
My final meal

My last meal in Europe was here. You don't realize how much you miss Asian food until you're eating carbs for 24 straight days. Most expensive sweet & sour chicken ever!
Ahh Haribo....Ahh Haribo....
Ahh Haribo....

...you made it to Greece. I can't thank you enough for bringing such comfort to me throughout my European tour.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb