A trip down some Greek ruins...literally


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After travelling for 24 hours I finally made it to Athens and thought, man this place better be worth it. But it didn't disappoint. I heard some people saying they hated it, but I totally disagree. I think its awesome how they have all these old ruins and then they just build the rest of the city around it. Made me want to brush up on my Greek mythology, i really liked that elective.

So my first full day consisted of visiting the famous Acropolis. Even though its under construction I was still blown away. It alone was worth the trip. You think about how it was built so long ago and how the people hauled these massive pieces of marble up to the top of the hill with nothing but pure man power and wow! Its a sweet deal too. If you buy the ticket to the Acropolis it gets you into 6 other famous ruin sites, including the temple of the Olympian Zeus. Its usually 12 euros, but i got the student price, 6! i would have paid 12 for the Acropolis alone so I was pumped. Its pretty sweet that most people take my old Queen's card as proof as a studen id. Everyone was like, get an ISIC card, but I couldn't be bothered and I'm glad I didn't shell out the money. No one has to know that I technically don't go to Queen's anymore 😊 That night consisted of supper and trying to find this stupid Greek Dance theatre that no one knew about. Turns out the map was wrong and by the time I figured it out it was too late to see the show, so I just trecked back to the hostal. Checked out the rooftop bar which had some pretty good views of the Acropolis all lit up. Talking to people I've realized I need to come back and do some island hopping. Mon, I'm adding it to the list of places we must go on our trip.

The next morning I started walking around the town and not too far into it I took a massive fall down these marble stairs...damn marble can be so slippery! I imagine it looked just like those cartoons, you know when you see them sliding on ice and it looks like the feet just move under them. Yup, that was me. Tried to recover, almost, almost, and then BAM!!!! Slid down a good half the stairs. My pinkz took the brunt of the fall though and when I got up it was kinda just sticking out the side and I couldn't bring it close to the other fingers. So I'm thinking oh crap, I've broken it, its dislocated, what the hell do I do? No one was around, which i think I prefferd, at least my pride could stay intact. Faught back the tears and walked back to the acropolis to find the tourist police to ask for a medic. On the walk over I convinced myself it was only sprained cause I wasn't prepared to deal with worse. THen the tourist police said there was no medic around but he could call an ambulance...um, for a sprained finger isn't that a little drastic? So I opted for just going back to the hostal because I didn't want to pay for the ambulance bill, and I didn't want there to be a scene. So I get there and they've run out of ice....by this point all I wanted was my mommy. I've decided this is the one downfall to travelling by yourself...no one to take care of you and fuss over you if you happen to be a spaz like myself. (thanks colleen) So the hostal staff wen to get me some ice and I spent a good part of the afternoon icing it and lying in bed knocked out from all the Tylenol. But I made it up for supper and finally managed to go watch the Greek dance show...tres cool! Didn't make it to the archealogical museum so that will have to wait for next time....hmm, with all these next times I better find a sweet paying job with lots of holidays....those exist right?

The last day just had enough time for some souvenir shopping before heading to the airport. I got there and the lady was like, right we overbooked the flight, come back 30 minutes prior to departure and we'll see what we can do. I was a little worried since this was the sketchy flight that required me to fax my passport and credit card scan to them. But it all worked out. I ended up getting a direct flight to Zurich instead of a stop over in Budapest, which meant I got in an hour earlier, so I could check in before the hostal reception closed...I love it when things go my way for once 😊

Time for some yoddelling (sp?)....do they actually do that anywhere in Switerland anymore?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb