Dreadful Ferry and Slippery Acropolis


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AcropolisAcropolisAcropolis

just rocks...marbles....shouldve hired a guide through it.....
So I did manage to contact the girl and got to share a taxi to the port! still, the driver ripped us off......>_<"

The Ferry..I got a good spot indoors...on the sofa...so I could lie down.
All was good until halfway through a bunch of Greeks came and just sat at my table!! They were a big group and they smoked!!!...ahhh....completely pissed at that point..especially because, when they came in..I was sleeping...so they woke me up from my morning nap....-____-"
The ferry ride was LOOOOOOONG!! total 18 hours!!! ...arrived like at 3am.....god..I was so sleepy and tired....
Walked around..got lost a while before someone helped me to get to the night bus station to catch the bus to Athens...
The hostel was nice....easy to find, Air-Con..small dorm room...
I did manage to walk up at 10 for breakfast and did some laundry before I went to bed! haaa..
Resulting in.....tired sightseeing day.

Went out to the Acropolis directly....WHOW...loads of people...tourist.....
It was Sunday so everything outside the Acropolis area were closed...
Anyways...its a ruin..with a pile of stones...costing 6 Euros for a student ticket....
Ah well, its pretty coool though. The marbles were reallly slippery......
One thing I didnt like was that all the information provided onsite were about restoring the place...and not the actual history.........errr.....
I was gonna to go to some of the museums...since there isnt a lot more to do...
But ended up...shopping again....><" bad me..haaaa! but good cheap stuff though! Loved the purchases I bought today!!! haaaaa!!
Tried to find the Greek Instrument free entrance museum.....but couldn't......walked up and down a few times still can't find. So just went back to the hostel and called it a day.

Athens is better than I thought! At least this downtown area....^^"
Gonna catch a flight to Stockholm tomorrow and its fustrating that all the hostels are booked up already!! and I mean..ALL the hostels in the area..WTH.....The HI ones were all closed by mid-August...so only private small ones running....>___<" ahh...
I think I managed to find a bed after emailing 10 different hostels in Stockholm and Uppsala..
Carol, who did an exchange there also gave me a few contacts of local people that maybe could let me crash in a few days....but I havent heard from them yet...-___-" and very true...Sweden IS EXPENSIVE!!!!...$__$


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Recycling!Recycling!
Recycling!

good and cute recycling box!!!! they even have a slot for mobile phones....
Goddess.....Goddess.....
Goddess.....

some goddess puppet...sold all around the islands and mainland Greece!..their faces zere kinda scary I think....
Greek GuardGreek Guard
Greek Guard

their uniform is pretty nice ne! I still dunno if this one is a real human or a dolly....


Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb