Gibraltar


Advertisement
Gibraltar's flag
Europe » Gibraltar
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Hi - I'm in Gibraltar now - have been for about 10 days. It's been really busy with navigation classes and studying, so I really haven't had time to look around much and take photos. Gibraltar is an odd mix - British with a nice Southern European feel. Very relaxed. It's not clear what goes on here other than the marinas, a bit of banking and a lot cafe eating and drinking. I've attached a photo of the marina and a few shots of The Rock. I had a chance to walk across the border into Spain - a little town called La Linea that is pretty forgetable. One night several of the sailing students went there for tapas and had a good time.

We also had a sea survival course one hot Saturday, so the dunk in the pool in full foulie gear was just fine.

Today, we sailed across the Strait (about 15 miles) to a Moroccan town called Ceuta. I'm told it's a nice place. Trouble is, we spun around in the Ceuta marina and headed back for Gibraltar without getting out and seeing the sights. I don't even have a photo of the place because I was plotting the course for the return trip. Just as we were entering Gibraltar bay again a big pod of feeding dolphins danced around the boat - always fun.

I hope things are great at home.
Take care,
Deirdre


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb