So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Good Bye


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I’m leaving today and that it’s the end of my holiday. Five months gone. But, truth be told, I am kind of hankering to get back - it's starting to get a bit cold over here and well, this kind of weather does not bring out the best in people (me included). I'm looking forward to a bit of warm, Melbourne spring weather. And ofcourse spring racing carnival!

It's been a bit chaotic since I arrived, over a week ago now, in München at the ungodly hour of 6 in the morning (!!) Needless to say there was no sleep for me the night before. My flight departed Yerevan at 4.55am and I needed to be at the airport 3 hours ahead and I never really could manage to get to bed before midnight in Armenia anyway so I guess an all-nighter wasn't altogether beyond me. But, I was very sad to say goodbye. Such a great country and such great people. I hate goodbyes in general, who doesn’t, but every day was a goodbye on this trip and 4 and a half months worth makes for a helluva lot of goodbyes!

But, rain is always followed by a little sunshine and it came in the form of München, Oktoberfest and a young Bavarian, Wolfgang, who I had met in Georgia. I didn't exactly arrive feeling refreshed so when he met me and told me that one of us would have to ride the bike for a little way to his car I wasn't exactly the first to volunteer. In fact, as it turned out, it was much more entertaining observing Wolfgang riding my bike, complete with lederhosen, from the comfort of the tram.

So then, luggage safely packed away in car we headed, along it seemed with all of Munich, to the Wiese. Actually, all of Münich was already there. The tents were packed, and it was difficult enough at 11 o'clock to get a seat, let alone when we left. But, when in Munich do as they do - drink litre steins of beer and eat weisswurst with brezel. All this drinking and eating (along with lack of sleep) is all rather exhausting though and after two steins I had to pike it. After some time spent on a grassy knoll observing the antics of the (many) drunkards we headed back to town to figure out where exactly we were going to sleep. Wolfgang ofcourse had his car but it took a bit of time for me to come up with the airport solution but as soon as I did I could relax as I already knew where home was and how to get there. All that was left was for Wolfgang to give me the night tour of Munich which he dutifully did. I’m glad he did because my memory of the Munich I saw way back in 1991 (!!) did not involve any culture. What I do remember of Munich was an overcrowded campground full of rowdy Australians and New Zealanders and the small walk from the train station to the beer halls. Not much of a memory really. I had no idea such a beautiful city, with many attractions, actually existed. Now I do.

So following the night tour it was time for me to make my way back home ie the airport. Munich airport is quite a good airport to spend the night really. I found a cosy spot underneath the escalators tucked in between seats, some wheelchairs and the fire hose and set up camp - finally an excuse to use my roll mat! Had a pretty good night’s sleep too, at least as good as any I would have had in a hotel. And the following morning I could get up and have a lovely shower (and not have to pay for it like at some airports) and find a café to have breakfast. Not bad at all really. I highly recommend it.

Next destination Düsseldorf to visit my family. Thankfully they know what I’m like so it was off to bed at 8 no questions asked. It was the best sleep I’d had in about a month and was positively fantastic. Next day was spent window shopping and the following day it was off to Emsdetten in Münsterland to catch up with Reinhard (who I met in Iceland 7 years ago) and his partner Renate.

Münsterland is great cycling country. Lovely and flat with a fabulous network of bike paths and bikes galore. Reinhard and I spent the afternoon riding to Bevegern, about 15km from Emsdetten, and back, stopping in Bevegern for a cuppa and a HUGE slice of streuselkuchen (yum I love German cakes). We were lucky we made the trip on this day as the following day the weather turned. It was rainy, and dark, typical autumn weather. Reinhard drove me back to Düsseldorf (160km per hour on the autobahn thank you very much) and the following day it was off to Leverkusen to visit more family friends. But not before a meeting with Jarrod and his partner Kerstin. I met Jarrod, a fellow Aussie, in a hostel in Veliko Tarnovo in Bulgaria and I said I would contact him when I got to Düsseldorf. It was really quite strange. I’ve been coming to Düsseldorf for the past 16 years and have not gotten to know a soul yet I meet Jarrod (in a foreign country for both of us no less) and find that he lives on the same tram route as my aunt. Small world.

Following these catch ups it was well and truly time to sit and do nothing or at the very least spend it with my family who only seemed to see me late at night, if at all. Saturday my cousin invited us for afternoon tea to her student digs (more cake) and Sunday I went with my aunt to the Altstadt and the Ceramics Museum. Both days were very relaxing and allowed me a little bit of time to catch my breath and try to shake my cold. Oh, and it also gave me the energy I needed to spend the whole day window shopping (!) the next day.

So that was the little sojourn in Germany. Not really holidaying but easing me back into what awaits me when I get home (kind of anyway). Home is now beckoning and I’m looking forward to seeing family and friends again. The trip has been fabulous. I could not possibly have planned a better journey than the one I was so lucky to experience, most of which can be attributed to the wonderful, kind people I had the greatest pleasure in meeting along the way. And, ofcourse, to those I met previously and was fortunate enough to be able to meet again. I am forever grateful. Thanks too to my friends who sent me emails and comments and kept my spirits buoyant. I look forward to seeing you soon. Until then, hope you enjoyed the ride as much as I did.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb