Fulda and Gross-Zimmern


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
May 21st 2015
Published: May 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

This morning I explored Fulda a bit. I went first to the train station because I wanted to see if I could find the spot where my father took a photo when he was here in 1946. I have a passably similar picture, but I don't really think it is the exact spot (see pictures). BTW, he was here on a train shepherding DP's (Displaced Persons) from the American sector to the Soviet sector after the end of WWII. Fulda was in the American sector, but it was right on the border with what became East Germany. I don't know what the locals thought today as I roamed up and down the station platforms staring at my iPad and taking pictures, but no one said anything to me. Next I walked to the cathedral (see picture). It is famous as a site of learning from when it was the abbey church of Fulda Abbey which housed a large library of ancient texts that were faithfully copied over the centuries by the monks here. The abbey was closed in the early 1800's, but the impressive cathedral remains. It is light and white inside (see picture) and also has the tomb of St. Boniface in its crypt (see picture). I drove next to Darmstadt which is near Gross-Zimmern where Walter and Hannelore live. They are distant relations, sort of. They are related to my sister-in-law, Lisa, and know my mother through her genealogical research. I spent a very nice evening in their company. We visited the old homestead, or what in the USA would be called "old". In Germany it is merely a 113 year old house. Then the three of us met the rest of the family at - per my request - a typical German restaurant. I had Wiener schnitzel, which was excellent, and I also had a local beer that was very good too. Sorry, I took no pictures. I wish I had remembered to bring my camera! It was very nice to meet the family and enjoy their company and hospitality.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb