Germany, Prague, and England = Winter Break 2009-2010


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
January 1st 2010
Published: September 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

A good friend of mine was stationed with the US Air Force in Germany and couldn't come home for Christmas. I also had a friend from my Galapagos summer that lived in England. My flight from DC to Frankfurt was the day of a massive snowstorm. Washington DC easily had a foot of snow on the ground, but my flight from Dulles on British Airways was not canceled. My flight wasn't until the evening, and I was already packed. A friend of mine said "Get started! What else were you planning to do today?" I didn't own a travel backpack yet, so I trudged through the unplowed street headed to the metro with my massive rolling suitcase. A few random neighbors out having a snowball fight took turns helping me carry my suitcase to the main road. A friend of mine was at her school working and had her car with her so she picked me up and drove me a few more blocks to the metro. Once underground it was smooth sailing until the metro rail came up above ground and could go no farther. We all had to get off the metro. In the middle of Northern Virginia with no plan, I started asking other people if anyone else was headed to Dulles. A friendly stranger came to my rescue in his big four wheel drive truck. I made it to Dulles!

After standing in line at the check in counter for hours, Dulles officially closed due to the weather... although our flight was never technically canceled. I happened to be standing amongst 3 other solo travelers. One other women and two men. The four of us were fast friends for the next 24+ hours. We stayed at a hotel by Dulles, had dinner, and spent the entire next day back at Dulles together. Finally on my way to Germany!

In Germany, my friend and I drove 5 hours to Prague for a few days! Amazing, but super cold! Back in Germany, we explored her sleepy town, experienced the magic of German Christmas markets and Glühwein (warm, mulled, sweet wine), and went to a castle.

After Christmas I left Germany for a week in England. I explored London on my own, and met up with my other friend to go to Oxford and other local, interesting spots! I need another trip to England to go to
Famous Prague Astronomical ClockFamous Prague Astronomical ClockFamous Prague Astronomical Clock

The clock was first installed in 1410, making it the third-oldest astronomical clock in the world and the oldest one still working.
Stonehenge!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb